Experiment # 1: Roscón de Reyes

I, despite having a degree in law, studied science in high school, so scientific experiments are not a secret to me. Ok, maybe I’m exaggerating, but I really like to experiment, especially in the kitchen.

Normally I only write about my successful “experiments” and left to others forgotten in the dark.

My intention this year is to write about these recipes or dishes that have been a taboo for me for quite some time now, either because I’m unable to achieve its perfect state or just because I’ve been too afraid to even try…

My first experiment of the year was a Roscón de Reyes, a very Spanish tradition to celebrate the visit of the Three Wise Men.

I chose the recipe from a Spanish blog called Javirecetas because normally his recipes are very well explained and taste good.

ROSCÓN DE REYES. EXPERIMENTO Nº 1

Here’s a collage with the main steps and the final result.

The verdict: Unfortunately, something went wrong at some point, because although the flavor was good, my dough didn’t rise as much as it should and the outer texture was a little rough.

My theories: The milk wasn’t hot enough and the yeast didn’t activate properly. Lack of kneading.

But it’s okay, because I have decided (too) that these experiments can only end in success. So tomorrow I’ll get back to work, this time following the recipe of Iñaki Oyarbide or Angelita Alfaro …I’ll see.

Defeat is not an option! Wish me luck!

PS.: Once I succeed with the recipe I’ll translate it (if necessary) and post it

27 Replies to “Experiment # 1: Roscón de Reyes”

  1. Dough is temperamental. It needs the right temperature throughout to prove properly. Have fun with these experiments Giovanna 🙂

  2. Learning can only happen with a little failure. However, I think your little wreath still looks very pretty. I am sure next time it will raise beautifully and have it all sorted. Take care, BAM

  3. I agree with Bam. Your cake looks pretty. Now you just have to find what went wrong and your next cake will be perfect. I’ve got faith in you, Giovanna. 🙂

    1. Thank you John! Yes, I guess is not that bad after all… 😉 Bu I have more dough almost ready for deco and bake tomorrow… 🙂
      Hehe, thanks for your support, I appreciate it 🙂

  4. Your roscon de reyes looks lovely, Giovanna. We have a similar tradition in Switzerland on January 6 to celebrate the visit of the 3 wise men: a small figurine of a king or queen is hidden in it and the lucky one gets to enjoy regal favours for the day! I will write a post about it.

    Yeast dough really behaves unpredictably, lots of kneading (as you mentioned) is needed and the right temperature to let it rise properly. And maybe a pinch of good luck?

    1. Hi Barbara! Thanks a lot for your comment 🙂 I think is the same thing, we also have a figurine and whoever finds it is the queen or the king for the day…How do you call your roscón de reyes? 😉 I’ll love to hear more about it.
      I hope all my good luck for the day is in the dough that’s rising as we speak… we’ll see tomorrow 🙂

    1. ¡Oh, me encanta lo de guapa! 😉 Jejeje. Tu roscón me ha parecido impresionante, de verdad. Seguro que atu vecina le encanta. Gracias por los ánimos, ya os contaré mañana cómo ha salido.

    1. Yes, I guess you are right…as long as we don’t stress over our mistakes 😉 (I know, easy to say…)
      Your so call mistakes always look great, so… you are the best at turning mishaps into success 😉
      Thanks for the support!

  5. What a lovely recipe.

    Bread has got so boring in recent years, it’s lovely to see bread that can be enjoyed entirely by itself, with nothing more than a bit of butter.

    A great thing to put on the table before dinner to get everyone talking and engaging. Delicious!

  6. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

OK, let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.