Pumpkin fever

People are starting to get into the fall mood and the number of recipes with pumpkin is growing, so I’ve decided to make one too and get into the “pumpkin fever”.

Don’t try to resist and jump in!

Parmesan pumpkin

Ingredients

2 tbsp. olive oil
1 onion diced
1 garlic clove diced
400 ml canned diced tomatoes
10 leaves basil chopped
2 tbsps. parsley chopped
1 tsp. sugar
Salt and pepper
2 eggs lightly beaten
50 g bread crumbs
1 kg pumpkin, peeled and sliced. I used Butternut squash
50 g butter
50 g grated Parmesan cheese
 

Directions

Heat oil in a sauce pan and sauté onion and garlic at low heat for 5 minutes. Add tomato, basil, parsley, sugar and salt and pepper to taste. Cook 10 to 15 minutes until thickened.Butternut squash

Meanwhile, put eggs in a dish and breadcrumbs into another. Dip the pumpkin slices into the egg and then cover with bread, remove excess.

Melt butter in a big sauce pan and fry the pumpkin until golden. Place them into a greased oven tray. Pour the tomato sauce over the pumpkin and sprinkle  with cheese.

Bake in a pre-heated oven at 350 ºF for 30 minutes or until the cheese is bubbly and golden.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

14 thoughts on “Pumpkin fever

  1. andy1076 September 18, 2011 at 01:35 Reply

    wow fall really is upon us, delicious pumpkin ideas are already brewing :)

    • Bluejellybeans September 18, 2011 at 01:45 Reply

      Hi Andy! yes Fall is around the corner so better be prepare…;) Thanks for visiting and the comment.

  2. ChgoJohn September 18, 2011 at 13:28 Reply

    Et tu, Bluejellybeans? :) Yes, I had no idea there were so many ways to cook pumpkin but I’m learning fast. I love that you’ve paired parmesan cheese with your pumpkin/squash. Sounds delicious!

    • Bluejellybeans September 18, 2011 at 18:06 Reply

      Hi John! Et moi? Well apparently there is! So let’s see what we can do it…:)
      Yes, the sauce marks the difference; my children said it tastes like pizza!! I guess we can add a bit of oregano.
      Thanks for the comment

  3. ceciliag September 18, 2011 at 14:58 Reply

    Oh this one looks great, giovanna, i will try it as soon as i get to pick another pumpkin from the patch.. thank you.. awesome..I love fried food! crunchy is my fav c

    • Bluejellybeans September 18, 2011 at 18:08 Reply

      Hi Cecilia! I’m glad you liked the recipe. Thanks for the comment :)

  4. niasunset September 18, 2011 at 19:49 Reply

    First of all, it is a wonderful photograph. I liked it. And secondly, it’s been second time, today that I have met with another recipe of pumkin. In our food culture we usually cook it like a dessert… Today, first one is the pumkin soup and now, your recipe. Seems so delicious. I want to try this, and then I will come back again, Thank you Giovanna, with my love, nia

    • Bluejellybeans September 19, 2011 at 16:50 Reply

      First of all thanks! Coming from a pro is a real compliment. I know, that’s why I call it pumpkin fever and is just the beginning!

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide September 19, 2011 at 00:57 Reply

    Too funny, we’re having squash for dinner tonight. I love this recipe!

    • Bluejellybeans September 19, 2011 at 16:51 Reply

      Thanks for the comment Rufus! I’m glad you liked

  6. sportsglutton September 19, 2011 at 03:37 Reply

    I haven’t experiment too much with cooking pumpkin like this, but wife (who is sitting next to me) and just got really excited by your recipe. We’ll have to try it when we pick up some pumpkins!

    • Bluejellybeans September 19, 2011 at 16:55 Reply

      Hi, I’m glad your wife likes the recipe and hope that when she tries it at home you both enjoy. Thanks for the comment!

  7. chicaandaluza September 19, 2011 at 12:42 Reply

    Ooh – I love pumpkin but am still waiitng for my neighbour´s patch to deliver one up to us! Like the parmesan, very nice indeed :)

  8. Bluejellybeans September 19, 2011 at 16:09 Reply

    Hi Chica, ya te echaba de menos! qué tal las vacaciones? Bueno, si tu vecino no te lleva una calabaza, siempre puedes comprarla en el mercadona ;)

OK, let's talk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 709 other followers

