Sweet corn ring

served with a blue cheese sauce and a salad
served with a blue cheese sauce and a salad

Today’s recipe is an adaptation of a classic and very popular dish from Panama and the Colombian Caribbean Coast. The “bollos” have and indigenous origin and are made with maize, cassava or banana wrapped in corn husks and boiled or parboiled in water.

In Panama these “bollos” could be Blancos (White), made with White corn and wrapped   in sugar cane leaves. Or Preñaos (pregnant), stuffed with beef or pork stew, very traditional in La Chorrera. Also we may find them made of Cassava or sweetcorn (amarillos/yellow) stuffed or not, some are sweetish and others are more salty, with cheese, coconut and/or anise.

Normally I can’t find corn husks or sugar cane leaves here in Madrid, so this recipe is a fantastic way of recreate a Panamanian classic no matter where we are. Besides, it has a very nice presentation. You will get a lot of ohhs and ahhs, that’s for sure!

IMGP6945

Ingredients

  • 6 sweet corn ears
  • 1 cup evaporated milk
  • 4 tbsp. butter
  • 1 tsp. of salt
  • 2 tbsp. flour
  • 3 eggs
  • 2 tbsp. sugar
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 cup shredded fresh cheese.

Directions

Wash the sweetcorn ears and thresh with a sharp knife. Scrape the cob with the back of the knife to remove all the pulp. Pour all ingredients into a blender and grind until corn is well milled. Pour into a well-greased ring or Bundt pan.

Cover with foil and bake in a water bath at 180 ºC (350 °F) for approximately 30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.

Sancti Petri, here we go!
Sancti Petri, here we go!

This weekend I’ll be leaving for the beach. I will try to program some posts for those days that I’ll be away and also I’ll try to write something while I’m there. But all this is only wishful thinking… I hope that during these last three days I’ll be able to achieve everything…whish me luck!!

39 Replies to “Sweet corn ring”

    1. ¡Muchas gracias Natalia! Me parece que quedaría también muy bien si lo haces en un “loaf pan”, ¿sabes? Esos que son rectangulares 😉 Y para el baño maría tendrías que usar una bandeja un poco honda para que el agua alcance hasta la mitad o así del molde.
      Si lo intentas no dejes de contarme cómo te fue… Y si tampoco tienes de esos moldes, pues inténtalo en ramekins, que también quedarán muy bonitos en raciones individuales.
      Bye!

    1. Hi Rob! I hop you do try it sometime and that you like it 😉 I love corn bread too, so mielie is corn in Afrikaans? Sounds good! 😉
      Thanks a lot for your comment!

    1. Hi Laila! (is that correct?) You are too kind. I’m thrilled that you like this post, thanks a lot for your comment and your good whishes for a relaxing trip 🙂 I’ll do my best 😉

    1. Hehe! Thanks a lot Tanya 🙂 Intentaré aprovechar esos días de vacaciones para relajarme y disfrutar de la lectura y de no hacer nada 😉
      Los preparativos están al 2%, asi que de momento el caos reina en casa…

    1. Haha, scrumity… sounds funny 🙂 Thanks a lot for your comment Mandy! I will try to enjoy this break and relax 100%. Now I only hope that my children and Hubby agree with me 😉
      G

    1. Hola MD!! Muchas gracias por tus buenos deseos. A ver si en alguno de tus viajes a España te das una vuelta por la Costa de la Luz, seguro que te gustará.
      Un saludo,
      G

    1. Yes, you can say that, but this one is more moist that the bread (I think). I think that your food related knowledge includes much more sophisticated recipes than this humble ring (being English and all) 😉 😉
      Thanks a lot for your comment!

  1. Oh yum! I love sweet corn in any shape or form, but especially corn bread. This looks amazingly moist and delicious! Almost like a cross between corn bread and corn cake! I’d love to try this recipe. Did you drizzle it with mayonnaise or sour cream? Thanks for the lovely recipe!

  2. Very interesting … love the color of it … *smile – hope of all my heart that your weekend … by the ocean … has been delightful and relaxing.

    1. Hi Viveka! Thanks a lot for your comment. I’m still at the beach, and my Internet connection is not that great, that’s why I’m a bit behind answering your comments… But I will visit your blog very soon.
      Take care 🙂

  3. Hi Giovanna! I made this and the flavor was delicious! Only question is, is there a good way you would recommend to make it more dry? My husband is Panamanian and was commenting that he is used to them drier – would you recommend less condensed milk, or to drain the corn? Thanks!

    1. Hi Renee!
      I would suggest to put get it out of the water and keep I t in the oven for a few more minutes, maybe 15, after is it is cooked. That way it will loose some humidity. Also, in Panama we use to reheat bollos in a pan with a bit of oil or butter, maybe you could do that with the portions.
      I hope this help. Thanks a lot for visiting my blog and your comment!! 😊

OK, let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.