November 3rd. Separation of Panama from Colombia

In November, Panama celebrates a month of national festivities. Throughout November, all around the country the flag and patriotic symbols are displayed. There are three days of great historical importance for Panama in November. The days of national celebration are the 3rd, 10th and 28th of November. The celebrations these days are due to the separation of Panama from Colombia, the “cry” of independence and the independence from Spain, respectively. Wearing the colors of the flag, Panama celebrates these festivities with several events and parades throughout the country.

As you can see we celebrate E V E R Y T H I N G.

On November 3, Panama dresses in red, blue and white and celebrates with parades in the most important avenues of the city. Most schools throughout the country will display their musical bands through the streets as thousands of proud Panamanians applaud their merits. It’s a great and unforgettable experience for everyone, both local and foreign. When I was a little girl I participated in one of these parades, it was such a huge honor… 😉

Take a look!

Well, there you go! Another day and no cooking…Not true, here’s the recipe for my mom’s flan.

Enjoy!

Crème caramel

Ingredients

  • 1 large can condensed milk
  •  1 large can evaporated milk
  • 4 eggs
  • Vanilla
  • Nutmeg
  • Caramel 
Directions
Beat eggs; add milk, vanilla and nutmeg to taste. Pour into a mold coated with caramel and put in a water bath.
This flan can be done in the oven, in which case you would need about 30 minutes at 350 degrees (approximately), or on the stove, also in a water bath, for about 45 minutes.
To make the caramel, the proportion is 50 g sugar and 1 tbsp. water. But I’m sure all of you have your own recipe for it.

Happy November 3rd!

21 Replies to “November 3rd. Separation of Panama from Colombia”

  1. wow, hope you are having a great independence day and you cook so often you need some time off but your mothers flan looks divine I love that shiny light look.. c

    1. Hi C! Thanks for your comment.
      The good thing about a food blog is that all we cook is eaten by our families. That’s how I’m able to cook that often… I’ll tell my mom that her flan was a hit 😉
      Have a nice day!

  2. Belated Felicidades on this special day! Big Man loves flan – and it´s my mum´s extra special (well, only!) dessert, so he loves it when his suegra makes if for him when she visits!

  3. Oh my dear goodness! I love flan so much! That and tres leches cake might just be my favorite desserts ever! I’ll be making this recipe at some point. Thanks so much for posting!! yumyum

OK, let's talk

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.