Fish head soup

When I was little girl one of my least favorite dishes was the fish head soup;  but my mom, auntie and grandma used to say that it was good for our brain, so during school time my brothers, cousins and I will have to eat it quite often… Time gave them the reason, cause as it turns out it is good for our memory, fats, fat soluble vitamins, iodine, calcium… moms are so cleaver!!

Well, the other day at the fish monger I bought an Atlantic croaker for ceviche and he asked if I wanted the frame and head of the fish and I was like…why would I?! But decided to play it cool and said of course!!

It went straight to the freezer and I didn’t think about until I found this recipe in a Panamanian recipe book my godmother gave to me a few years back.

I hope you liked it,  it is nutritiously delicious. I changed a few things I couldn’t find here in madrid, and added others that I thought will improve it.

Note: This is the full recipe, it serves 4.

Ingredients 

  • 4 fried fish heads (I also add the fish frame)
  • 1 medium cassava 
  • 1 large tomato
  • 1 green pepper
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 spring of coriander 
  • 5 cups of water
  • Salt, pepper, oregano and chili to taste

Directions 

First stir fry garlic, onion, pepper and tomato with a bit of olive oil. When that’s done, place the fish heads in a large pot with coriander and water and bring to a boil. Add the stir fry veggies, salt, pepper, chili and simmer for about and hour.

After that time, use a strainer to pass the soup and with the back of a spoon make sure to press really well to strain all the juices out of the head and veggies. If you like, another cup of water can be added at this point to the strainer.

Bring back to a boil,  add the diced cassava and oregano. Cook over low heat until the cassava is tender (15 minutes or so).

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Fish head soup

OK, let's talk

