Macarons 101

Dulce de leche macarons with crunchy almond

I know I have not been very talkative lately. But I’m still here, not for long, though. Tomorrow I’m going to Paris to spend a few days over there with my husband.

To leave you on a high note and to start frenching up things, I’m posting the macarons I made today for the children (and us).

The base is the same for all three types, the only thing that varies are the fillings. In this post you have the recipe for the macarons, the template and the white chocolate ganache. I used raspberries then, today the chosen fruit was mango; Spanish mango actually; it was very very good (who would have thought!!).

Withe chocolate macarons with mango

The other two ganaches are chocolate and dulce de leche with crunchy almonds. Both very easy to make (actually, I bought a jar of dulce the leche ;) ).

See? The macarons have no major complication to make, just need a bit of patience and practice to make the shells and the rest is a breeze.

Macarons with chocolate ganache

Chocolate Ganache

  • 150 g dark chocolate in small pieces
  • 150 ml heavy cream
  • 1 tbsp. brown sugar
  • A pinch of salt

Directions

Put the chocolate in a bowl. Pour the cream and sugar in a small saucepan and heat until the sugar dissolves and the cream begins to boil. Add salt and pour the hot cream over the chopped chocolate. Stir well until it is completely melted. Let it cool before using.

Now we just have to place a small amount of chocolate over one half of the macaron and place the other one on top. Now, squeeze a little, so the chocolate will show all around it. If you want, you can sprinkle some cocoa on top.

For the dulce de leche, spread some of that on one half sprinkle some almonds, place the other half, press and if you want, carefully roll the sides of the macarons over the almonds, so some of them will stick.

Enjoy!

I’d love to know your favorite places in Paris. Any suggestions?

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

33 thoughts on “Macarons 101

  1. Karen September 25, 2012 at 02:19 Reply

    Enjoy Paris and time with your husband. We will be thinking of you while admiring your beautiful macarons. They sound wonderful. Have a great time.

    • Bluejellybeans September 29, 2012 at 12:21 Reply

      Thank you Karen! Your comment to the spam tray (don’t know why) I’m back now :) Have a nice weekend!

      • Karen September 29, 2012 at 13:36 Reply

        Thank you for retrieving my comment. I know you must have had a nice time.

  2. Mad Dog September 25, 2012 at 02:35 Reply

    Qué macarons hermosas y fotos tambien!
    Bon voyage Giovanna ;-)

    • Bluejellybeans September 25, 2012 at 11:20 Reply

      ¡Muchas gracias MD! Nos “vemos” a la vuelta :)

  3. thecompletecookbook September 25, 2012 at 08:58 Reply

    Have a fabulous trip with your hubby.
    Brilliant looking macaroons! :-) Mandy xo

    • Bluejellybeans September 25, 2012 at 11:20 Reply

      Thank you Mandy. I’ll try to relax and enjoy my time there… ;)

  4. Food,Photography & France September 25, 2012 at 09:25 Reply

    Those macarons look wonderful. Great flavours. I just can’t bring myself to make them whilst living in Macaronland:)

    • Bluejellybeans September 25, 2012 at 11:23 Reply

      Merci Roger! ;) Wish me luck in Macaronland, I hope the weather improves, I heard that is going to rain and is going to be a bit cold this week…

  5. cocomino September 25, 2012 at 09:43 Reply

    Yummy as alwayss. They must be quite delicious than Macdonalds.

    • Bluejellybeans September 25, 2012 at 11:25 Reply

      Thanks Cocomino! You are too kind :) I have not yet tried the McDonald’s, but they look very nice ;)

  6. Karen September 25, 2012 at 14:26 Reply

    My comment didn’t go through yesterday, hopefully it will today. Have a wonderful trip with your husband while we enjoy this terrific macaron recipe.

    • Bluejellybeans September 26, 2012 at 18:23 Reply

      Thank you Karen! I’m at Paris already and had a wonderful time. But now is raining a little… :(

      • Karen September 26, 2012 at 23:38 Reply

        Let’s hope the sun comes back out. I’ll be heading to Europe soon and am hoping for good weather as well.

  7. glutenfreezen September 25, 2012 at 14:39 Reply

    They are gorgeous! Enjoy your Paris getaway! :)

    • Bluejellybeans September 26, 2012 at 18:34 Reply

      Thank you April!
      I’m here already and had a great day, a lot of walking and no rain until 6. Now I’m at my hotel waiting for the hubby ;) 2 more days ahead… I love Paris!

  8. Promenade Claire September 25, 2012 at 15:46 Reply

    Oh they look delightful Giovanna, what a lucky family to have you as their cook! I’ve never tried making macaroons before…….. hope you have a super trip!

    • Bluejellybeans September 26, 2012 at 18:38 Reply

      Hi Claire! Thanks a lot for your comment. At first I wasn’t sure about me making macarons, but they are very very easy to make, you can trust me :)
      I’m having a great time here, this city is marvelous :)

  9. pamasaurus September 25, 2012 at 15:56 Reply

    Have an amazing trip!

    These look delicious; I’ve never attempted macaroons, but I hope to one day.

    • Bluejellybeans September 27, 2012 at 00:22 Reply

      Thank you! I didn’t dare at first, but they are really easy to make :)

  10. Fergiemoto September 25, 2012 at 18:05 Reply

    Wishing you a lovely trip to Paris!

    • Bluejellybeans September 27, 2012 at 08:28 Reply

      Thank yous Fergie! I think is going to rain today, but I have an umbrella and a raincoat ;)
      You too have a nice day

  11. trixfred30 September 25, 2012 at 23:20 Reply

    They look amazing – but difficult to get right?

    • Bluejellybeans September 27, 2012 at 08:34 Reply

      Hi! They are not that difficult actually. I think that when I come back I’m going to make a step by step post.
      Thanks for your comment :)

  12. ChgoJohn September 26, 2012 at 02:30 Reply

    Wow, Giovanna! Macarons with chocolate ganache! The only way they could be any better is if they were on a platter in front of me. :)
    I hope you and your husband have a wonderful time together in Paris. Bon Voyage!

    • Bluejellybeans September 27, 2012 at 08:37 Reply

      Thank you John! I’m having a great time, despite the rain…
      Have a nice day :)

  13. Chica Andaluza September 26, 2012 at 10:49 Reply

    Wow – macarons AND Paris – you lucky girl. They look gorgeous, and my very favourite fruit of all time is mango, so that would be the one I ate first. I have a very soft spot for The Marais and the Jewish Quarter in Paris, There is a Jewish restaurant which is good for lunch. Can´t remember the name but it is on the corner of the main road which runs from the Marais down towards the Louvre end and also has a little deli/shop. Possibly “Mariannes”? Great mixed platters, chopped liver, pickles, grilled peppers….mmmm :)

    • Bluejellybeans September 27, 2012 at 08:56 Reply

      Thanks Tanya! I’m following your advice and heading to le marais today. The weather is not that good, but I want to see the musée carnavalet and the Jewish quarter. I’m having lunch with friends in another area, so Chez Marianne would have to wait for now ;) (but I will take a look anyway)
      Thanks again for your comment, have a great day!

  14. Tandy September 26, 2012 at 16:37 Reply

    Have fun in Paris! I’ve never been so I look forward to reading all about it when you get back :)

    • Bluejellybeans September 27, 2012 at 09:00 Reply

      Hi Tandy! I’m glad I brought my camera, so I can take good pictures and show them to you later :)
      Have a nice day!

  15. Wendell A. Brown September 28, 2013 at 18:34 Reply

    May you both have wonderful trip! Blessings!

  16. Pink Macarons | Blue jellybeans October 23, 2013 at 20:06 Reply

    […] Pour de macarons over the baking sheets, trying to keep them all of the same size. You can use a template just to make sure, like the one in my post for raspberry and white chocolate macarons. […]

OK, let's talk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 742 other followers

