Duck magret with honey, raspebbies and balsamic vinegar

img_9218

Last Holidays I wasn’t sure at all about what to make for New Year’s Eve dinner. And I didn’t decide about it until the very last moment when my husband asked me for smoked ham with honey, pineapple and mustard.

Looking for inspiration, I bought one duck magret  to test a recipe and see how it goes. But it stayed in the fridge until January when I said to myself, to better do something with it before it spoiled.

Luckily for me all the ingredients were at hand and in less than 20 minutes this fantastic dish was at the table.

Sweet and acid, with a hint of rosemary. Strong flavor to accompany this rich meat.

Ingredients

  • 1 magret du canard
  • 2 shallots
  • 50 ml Modena balsamic vinegar
  • 3 tablespoon honey
  • 12 fresh raspberries
  • A twig of fresh rosemary
  • Salt and pepper

Directions

Prepare the duck breast by removing the fat on the flesh side and making cross cuts with a knife on the skin side.

Place the duck breast in a cold skillet and cook over low heat. During cooking, remove part of the fat released by the meat. Salt and pepper on the flesh side. Cook on the other side, for 5 minutes maximum. Remove from the skillet and keep warm.

To prepare the sauce, chop the shallots in julienne. Add them to the same frying pan in which we made the breast and sauté together with the raspberries. Add balsamic vinegar, rosemary and honey, bring to a simmer and reduce for a few minutes.

To serve, fillet the magret and accompany  with the sauce and some fresh raspberries.

Enjoy!

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Duck magret with honey, raspebbies and balsamic vinegar

  1. Riquísimo! I’ve got two duck breaststroke in my freezer which I also bought for a special meal and didn’t use…now I know what I’m going to cook. Espero que estás bien? Un abrazo

OK, let's talk

