Georgia On My Mind

Georgia, Georgia

The whole day through

Just an old sweet song

Keeps Georgia on my mind

 

I said a Georgia, Georgia

A song of you

Comes as sweet and clear

As moonlight through the pines

 

Other arms reach out to me

Other eyes smile tenderly

Still in the peaceful dreams I see

The road leads back to you

 

I said, Georgia, oh Georgia

No peace I find

Just an old sweet song

Keeps Georgia on my mind (…)

This week our dear Pilar has started an exciting adventure. She will spend this year studying in the U.S., at Georgia.

Of course, we are all a bit blue with her departure; but we know is going to be an amazing experience for her and very useful for her future.

Georgia, the Peach State. That was easy. It inspires recipe and music. Enjoy!

This post is dedicated to my lovely Pilar and the wonderful family that has opened their home to her. We only hope that they won’t send her back after a few months…just kidding!

Take care, my dear. We miss you already.

I love you!

P1100203a

Peaches and cream cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 120 g (1 cup) all-purpose flour
  • 140 g (3/4 cup) caster sugar
  • 1 ½ tsp. baking powder
  • A pinch of salt
  • 40 g (2 tbsp.) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 120 ml (½ cup) whole milk
  • 1 egg
  • ¼ tsp. pure vanilla extract
  • 400 g (14 oz.) canned peaches, sliced
  • Soft light brown sugar, to decorate (optional)
  • Vanilla frosting *

DirectionsP1100218

Preheat the oven to 170 ºC (325 ºF).

Put flour, sugar, baking powder, salt and butter in an electric mixer and beat on slow speed until you get a sandy consistency and everything is combined. Gradually pour in half the milk and keep beating until the milk is just incorporated.

In another bowl, whisk the egg, vanilla and remaining milk together, then pour into the flour mixture and continue beating until just incorporated and the mixture is smooth. Do not over mix.

Divide the sliced peaches between the paper cases. Spoon the mixture on top until 2/3 full and bake for 20-25 minutes or until light golden and the cake bounces back when touched. A skewer inserted in the center should come out clean. Leave the cupcakes to cool slightly in the pan before turning out onto a wire cooling rack to cool completely.

When the cupcakes are cold, decorate with the vanilla frosting and finish with a light sprinkling of brown sugar, if using.

*Here’s the recipe for the frosting, is very easy and delicious.

P1100206

Ingredients

  • 250 g (2 cups) icing/confectioners’ sugar sifted
  • 80 g (5 tbsps.) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 tbsps. Whole milk
  • A couple of drops of pure vanilla extract

Directions

Beat the icing sugar and butter inn electric mixer on medium-slow speed until the mixture comes together and is well mixed. Turn the mixer down to slow speed.

Combine the milk and vanilla in a separate bowl, the, add to the butter mixture a little at a time. Once all the milk has been incorporated, turn the mixer up to high speed. Beat until the frosting is light and fluffy, at least 5 minutes. And you’re ready to decorate your cupcakes.

Recipe from The Hummingbird bakery. Cupcakes and muffins

36 thoughts on “Georgia On My Mind

  1. Best wishes to your daughter. She will do fine, it is the parents that have the most difficult time being separated from their kids. a beautiful way to send her off with some delightful peaches and cream cupcakes.

  2. I wish Pilar the best for the future… but with the food you dish up (specially these cup cakes) I’m sure you will never be far from Pilar’s mind….

  3. Oh darling, your girl is going away, though she will have such an adventure you will miss her so.. but she will come back heaving with stories and laughter.. enjoy the peace and quiet, stunning cup cakes! c

    1. Thank you dear! Yes, she’ll have a blast and will come with a bunch of stories…meanwhile, there are not too much peace and quiet, her two brothers are taking care of that😉
      Take care Celi, thanks again for your comment🙂

  4. Here it is! I lost you for a bit there… Beautiful cupcakes! Leaving our son and moving 3,000 miles away was very difficult for me. But, as it turns out, once we settled in, it has turned out to be great for both of us. An adventure for sure. My thoughts are with you. xoxo ~ April

    1. Hi April! Is so good to see you🙂 Thanks a lot for your comment my friend! It’s hard, but I’m fine for now, a little bit more grumpy maybe😉 but is ok, I know she will be great. At the moment she is thrilled, that’s for sure!
      Take care🙂

  5. It is a lovely coincidence that I read your post today, I drove from Georgia two days ago to pick up my daughter who just returned from studying Mandarin Chinese in an accelerated course at the University of Beijing in China! We will be returning home to Georgia this weekend, may God surround your loved one with an abundance of blessings! I know the feeling! Giovanna, God will hold your daughter in His arms as he did my daughter De’Brijae!!!!

    1. Hi Wendell, thank you so much for your comment! I’m sure she will be fine, she’s with a wonderful family. Did your daughter learnt Chinese? I heard it is very difficult!
      Thanks against for stopping by🙂

  6. What a very wonderful experience your daughter is going to have. I am trying to persuade my sister in law to “allow” her daughter to finish her studies in the UK…unfortunately she is a being a very “Spanish Mama” about it all which I don’t agree with😦 Stunning cupcakes, and I love the little holders too!

    1. Hola Tanya! Si, es una experiencia increíble para ella🙂 Me parece que en nuestras culturas lo de mandar a los hijos fuera no es muy común, las madres somos un poco “gallinas con sus polluelos” no queremos separarnos de ellos… Aquí mucha gente me miraba como”qué locura!” Tenía yo que asegurarles de que todo iría bien en lugar de ellos a mi… En fin! Que le vamos a hacer?😉
      Muchas gracias por tu comentario🙂

  7. Oh my dear friend I can only imagine how much you will miss her. The South is known for their exceptional hospitality so I know she is in good hands with her host family🙂

    I love this recipe! Do you think this can be made with fresh peaches? They are in season now here in California🙂

    1. Hello my dear friend! Thanks a lot for your comment🙂 Yes, her host family already has proven themselves as very caring and hospitable. And that helps me to be more calm.
      As for the peaches, actually my first idea was to make these cupcakes with fresh peaches (they are in season here too), but then I decided to give a chance to the original recipe. Maybe next time I’ll bake them that way. If you do, let me know how they went🙂

OK, let's talk

