Prawn and mango cocktail

P1100174

There is a mango tree at my mom’s place in Panama, there’s one at my grandparents’ backyard (at least there used to be one…) and my brothers, cousins and I used to eat them straight from the tree. Well, almost…

Here in Spain they are quite expensive (compared to the 5 or 10 cents I used to pay back home) and not always that good. But I love them and my kids and husband love them, so once in a while I buy mango.

Normally we eat it plain. I simply peel, dice and distribute. But when I was little I liked to eat it with salt and vinegar, like a salad. I think you may still be able to find street stalls selling mango this way in Panama nowadays.

So, when I found a recipe for a salad with mango, I knew I had to give it a try. And I was right, it is delicious. Fresh, full of color and oh so, so good… You. Are. Going. To. Love. It! Trust me.

P1100166

This version combines the sweetness of the mango with the delicious flavor of the kumato tomatoes. I’m not sure if these tomatoes are available everywhere, so feel free to use any other kind, cherry tomatoes go very well too.

Ingredients

  • 2 kumato tomatoes or 6 cherry tomatoes
  • 1 large ripe mango
  • 1 small guindilla pepper or half fresh green chili chopped (optional)
  • The juice of one lime
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh cilantro plus a little more for garnish
  • 400 g cooked and peeled shrimp
  • Salt, pepper and sweet or hot paprika or to taste

P1100172

Directions

Make a cross cut at the base of the tomatoes and immerse in boiling water for 1 to 2 minutes. Take them out and peel. Refresh in cold water and chop into cubes. Place in a nonmetallic bowl.

Peel and chop the mango. Add it to the bowl with the tomatoes, don’t forget the juice!

Incorporate the chili (or guindilla), lime juice, cilantro, salt, pepper and paprika to taste.

Add the prawns and mix carefully. Check the seasoning and add more lime, salt or pepper, if needed.

Cover with cling film and put it in the fridge for a couple of hours for the flavors to intermingle.

Serve in individual bowls and garnish with a bit of cilantro.

Enjoy!

26 thoughts on “Prawn and mango cocktail

  1. this sounds fantastic! i did not know what kumato tomatoes were, so i envisioned the tiny wild tomatoes that are so prolific here on the coast of ecuador. they’re sweet and tart and versatile and delicious. so we have tomatoes growing wild outside my door.. and shrimp in the ponds (someone harvested a pond last night) and the mangos – hmmm, they’e not in season but i can find them when i am in a larger city….

    thanks so much, this is going to be in-cre-EE-blee!

    1. Hi Lisa! Yes, apparently these tomatoes were created here, but I guess there are similar varieties in other places. Your wild tomatoes sound enticing, and this is a good recipe to try them😉 I know you don’t have problem to find shrimps or prawns over there, and the mangos, well they are not in season there…but I hope you will find one around😉
      Thanks a lot for your comment!
      G

      1. i just realized that we have another fruit that reminds me a lot of mango, and you probably know it.. there are two, actually, that are surely cousins,but one trumps the other in my kitchen. it’s the zapote/sapote mamay … this is my favorite one: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pouteria_sapota and the other is smaller, has more fibers and isn’t as easy to slice/dice eat and has more stringy fibers than a mango..
        the favorite has firm wonderful flesh and is soooo delicious! that one would work great w/the shrimp!

        1. Yes, you are right! Sapote is a very good option too. We don’t have those here in Spain. You are a lucky girl, with all those wonderful fruits at hand… No te olvides de decirme qué tal salió el cóctel con mamey
          G

  2. Waoo, qué rico! I love mango too. En mi casa en Cuba también había una mata de mango y yo también solía ponerle un chin de sal. Es verdad que los de aquí no se pueden comparar con los del trópico pero te los encuentras buenos de vez en cuando. Lo de caro si que no hay quien se lo quite. Fantástica propuesta!!

    1. Gracias Magela! Supongo que esto de cocinar con ingredientes de los nuestros se le aplica el dicho “el quiera celeste que le cueste” …😉 pero bueno, hay que adaptarse.
      Me alegro mucho de que te gustara🙂

  3. What a fantastic summer dish – this I just have to try …. Love the freshness of the lime and the colors are just screaming at me.

OK, let's talk

