Red peppers with cod and shrimps

P1090852The filling of these peppers can be use for a quiche o some sort of pie, but I love the idea of them as the holders for this fantastic mix of flavors and textures.

I’m still away on the beach, and my Internet connection is rather poor, so I’m way behind my reading on other blogs and mails. Please excuse me😉

But to make it up to you, today’s recipe is so delicious and enticing, that after reading this post, you are going to go running to the closest store and buy the necessary ingredients to enjoy these beauties today.

Ingredients

  • 2 big red peppers
  • 1 or 2 leeks, just the white part
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 250 g desalted cod
  • 200 g shrimps peeled
  • 200 ml heavy cream
  • 2 eggs
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • Grated cheese (optional)

P1090864

Directions

Wash the peppers and cut in half, keeping the pedicle. Remove the seeds.
Place them on an oiled baking tray and bake at 200C for 20 minutes. They should be cooked but still firm. Take out of the oven the peppers and lower the temperature to 180 C.
Wash and slice the leek. Heat 4 tbsps of oil in a pan and sauté the leeks and garlic over medium-hight heat. After 10-15 minutes, add the cod, cut into small pieces and the shrimps. Sauté for a couple of minutes, add salt and pepper to taste (not too much salt, the cod will add almost enough) and set aside.
In a big bowl, whisk the eggs with the heavy cream, add salt and pepper.
Add the sauté cod and shrimps, stir well and fill with this mixture the baked peppers.
Now we can sprinkle some grated cheese on top (parmigiano, grana padano, pecorino…).
Place the peppers in the oven again at 180 C (350 F) for 15-20 minutes, or until the filling has set.

That’s it! Dinner is ready.

Enjoy!

33 thoughts on “Red peppers with cod and shrimps

  1. I stuff a lot of vegetables, but have never used fish in peppers: these look really moreish! Also I still have a tendecy to cut a cap of the top of the pepper, clean it out, put the filling in and the cap back on – yours looks much more practical, easier to cook and [😉 ] one gets more filling!!

    1. Hi Eha! I like that way when I stuff them with meat or rice. This way is better for fillings with more liquid in them (I think…) This was a new recipe for me too, and I loved it, is a keeper😉
      Thanks a lot for your comment!

  2. Riquisimos! Vamos a Portugal (espero) dentro de dos semanas y tenemos planeado de comer y comprar mucho bacalao…perfecto para este plato. Que no te quemes a la playa!

  3. Looking so good … don’t you quickly blanch of the peppers first – sometimes I find them too bitter .. never eaten salted cod .. and less desalted. Very interesting recipe. Maybe salted cod is something similar to our gravlax … without the sugar and the dill. *smile – it looks fantastic.

    1. Hi Viveka! No, normally I don’t blanch them first. But I guess you can do it and reduce the baking time…
      As for the gravlax and salted cod, I’m afraid they are not comparable. You could use any kind of fish if you can’t find it.😉
      Ps.. your gravlax sounds delicious😉

  4. I’m kinda speechless here. This recipe is perfect! And your photo is mouthwatering. Oh yes, I have to try to make this as soon as it cools off a little.🙂 Have fun at the beach for me please🙂

  5. these look SO DELICIOUS! I’ve worked most of the night (when internet is faster) and would love to have about three portions of this please? And some monkey bread as well… i love monkey bread and was thinking about that earlier today!

    z

OK, let's talk

