Banoffee Cupcakes

Hi everyone! Today I’m posting some cupcakes I made last month to finish the caramel sauce I had left from my monkey bread. Yes, that was a high-sugar-level week…

The recipe is the classic for banoffee cupcakes and I thought there was nothing to change or add to it. So I followed it to the letter. But, do you have any suggestion to take these to the next level? What is your favorite version of this classic?

Banoffee Cupcakes
Banoffee Cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 2 very ripe bananas
  • 125 g self-rising flour
  • 100 g butter
  • 100 g caster sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 12 teaspoons caramel sauce

Frosting

  • 100 g caramel sauce
  • 300 g icing sugar
  • 85 g butter at room temperature
  • Slices of banana, 3 tbsp. caramel sauce and chocolate shavings to decorate (optional).

Directions

For the cupcakes

Preheat the oven to 180°C (350 ºF).

Mash the bananas in a dish and set aside.

In a separate bowl beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

Combine flour and baking powder, add to the butter and beat.

Finally beat in the eggs, one at a time and mix until creamy.

Fold in the mashed bananas.

Place cupcake cases into the cupcake tin and spoon half the mixture into each one, add a spoonful of caramel and top with the remaining cake mix. Bake for about 20 minutes or until springy to the touch. Remove and cool.

2

For the frosting

Beat 100 g caramel with butter and icing sugar to form a thick icing. Make a swirl onto the cakes with a piping bag.  Top with a banana slice and chocolate dusting, and if you like, drizzle some caramel over the icing too.

Enjoy!

29 thoughts on “Banoffee Cupcakes

    1. Hehe… Ok. I’m sorry! I would send you a few but a) they are already gone and b) they wouldn’t be that good after that flight😉
      Thanks a lot for your comment Bulldog🙂

  1. Oh what gorgeous photos! These are so pretty, and the recipe sounds so good. I’ve been in a cupcake kind of mood too. They’re fun to make. Thank you!

  2. The recipe sounds tasty enough, Giovanna, especially with that caramel, but that last photo really sells them. You did an excellent job frosting and decorating them all. 🙂

  3. Banoffee, love it – and I really like the look of your cupcakes, but I don’t like frosting – I want my cupcakes naked = muffins – I will do this recipe as muffins and I will come back with the verdict

    1. Thanks Viveka! The frosting is totally optional. At home, among my kids, some eat the whole thing, others remove the frosting before eating and then is Fernando, he only eats the frosting!😉
      I hope you like them too, naked are dress up😉

      1. I know about the frosting – they will be great as muffins .. only thing is that I eat them all straight away as they come out of the oven *smile
        But I truly like baking muffins, the bigger the better.

  4. Pefect cupcakes I think you’ve taken up the mantle of petitechocolatier who used to do cupcakes but she’s disppeared from the bloggiverse for some reason

  5. These look absolutely gorgeous. I’ve been craving banana cupcakes, but the bananas were eaten quickly this week. I’ll have to put up a little sign ‘these bananas are for cupcakes!’

    1. Thanks a lot for your comment Leslie! I’m glad you liked them. We are having a very hot weather lately, so I’m more in the mood for fresh fruit desserts. But cupcakes are so pretty… Always a old option🙂
      I hope the sign works and that you get to bake those banana cupcakes soon😉

OK, let's talk

