Sachertorte

IMAG1061

As a said in my last post, I made a sachertorte for Pilar’s Confirmation. I baked it because when Pilar went to Vienna last year she came home with a post card of a sachertorte and told me she wanted me to bake one just for her; she has tasted it and felt deeply in love… with the cake.

I didn’t bother to investigate too much about it before baking (as I usually do). It is now that I sit to write this post that I discover the interesting history of this cake. I also found out that I made a version of the “Eduard-Sacher-Torte” not the “Original Sacher Torte” from Hotel Sacher.

Why? Well, long story short, because of a case of intellectual and commercial property rights… I know! I’m a geek! Lawyers!! The eldest son of Mr. Sacher (Eduard) perfected his father’s recipe while working at the Demel bakery. Later on, Mr. Eduard Sacher founded The Sacher Hotel and started selling the Sacher Torte there. After a bankruptcy, the new owners wanted to keep selling the popular cakes at their establishment but Eduard’s son started working for Demel and…well, the story goes on. If you would like to know more about it, here’s a link.

The funny thing is that you can find Mrs. Anna Sacher’s original recipe (the widow of the son) on Wikipedia!!

Here’s the recipe that I used, took from BBC, by Mary Berry.

Ingredients

  • 140 g semi-sweet chocolate
  • 140 g unsalted butter, softened
  • 115 g caster sugar
  • ½ tsp. vanilla extract
  • 5 eggs, separated
  • 85 g ground almonds
  • 55 g plain flour, sieved
  • 6 tbsp apricot jam, sieved

Chocolate icing

  • 140 g semi-sweet chocolate
  • 200 ml double cream

Writing

  • 25 g milk chocolate

IMGP8312

Directions

Preheat the oven to 180 ºC (350 ºF). Grease a deep 23cm (9 inches) round cake tin. Line the base with greaseproof paper.

Break the chocolate into pieces; melt gently in a bowl set over a pan of hot water, stirring occasionally, then cool slightly. Beat the butter in a bowl until really soft, and then gradually beat in the sugar until the mixture is light and fluffy. Add the cooled chocolate and the vanilla extract and beat again. Add the egg yolks, fold in the ground almonds and sieved flour.

In a separate bowl, whisk the egg whites until they are stiff. Add about one-third to the chocolate mixture and stir in vigorously. Gently fold in the remaining egg whites. Pour the mixture into the prepared tin and level the surface.

Bake in the oven for about 45-50 minutes, or until well risen at the top and the cake springs back when lightly pressed with a finger. Leave to cool in the tin for a few minutes then turn out, peel off the paper and finish cooling on a wire rack.

To make the topping, heat the apricot jam in a small pan and then brush evenly over the top and sides of the cold cake. Allow to set.

To make the icing, break the chocolate into pieces. Heat the cream until piping hot, remove from the heat and add the chocolate. Stir until the chocolate has melted, cool till a coating consistency.

Place the cake over a wire rack placed over a piece of parchment paper.

Pour the icing onto the center of the cake. Spread it gently over the top and down the sides with an offset spatula, and leave to set.

For the writing, break the milk chocolate into pieces and melt gently in a bowl set over a pan of hot water (or in the microwave). Spoon into a small icing bag and write ‘Sacher’ (or whatever you want) across the top and leave to set.

For a taller sachertorte, you may want to bake two cakes and place one on top of the other with a coat of apricot jam in between before pouring the chocolate.

My verdict about this cake is that it is delicious; the dark chocolate with the apricot jam is a wonderful mix. The cake is very moist and rich. I strongly recommend it.

Enjoy!

31 thoughts on “Sachertorte

    1. Yes I did! I’m sorry I didn’t comment back before…I completely forgot about it! What a disaster am I!
      I don’t think I could copyright it, but I would love too😉 I hope Big Man enjoys his birthday cake.
      Take care!

  1. I think your cake is a lot more moist and tasty than the piece that I queued up for at Hotel Sacher in Vienna, the biggest disappointing in my life – when it was about famous cakes. Because I think we stood in the queue for about 1,5 hours. Anything with chocolates goes with me. Stunning cake. Have a great weekend.

      1. Your cake looks so moist … Sacher torte in Vienna, eaten better in Germany. Nothing to write home about .. that experience.

    1. Thanks MD! Yes, about Mary Berry, this is the first time I use one of her recipes and it was great: easy to follow and very clear.
      Thanks for the link!🙂

    1. Hi! Thanks a lot for your comment! I remember your post with a sacher (it was you, right?) and I was trying to find it post it but couldn’t. I didn’t have many problems with the coating, but maybe it was just a case of beginners’s luck😉

  2. Amazing! Her recipe is different to the one I made from James Martin. It was on the final episode of the Great British bake off. Yours looks beautiful. I’m going to do the one from Larousse as the recipe is different🙂

  3. Lucky Pilar, she has excellent taste. You know, when you go to Sacher as a couple and order a piece of their cake and a glass of champagne (each) they automatically give you 2 spoons – the cake is soooo delicious and rich. I think Viveka must have had an unlucky day.

    1. Hi! Thank you very much for your comment🙂 yes, I guess Viveka had an unlucky day…
      I haven’t be at the sacher hotel, yet. Maybe one of these days🙂

  4. Damn, the chockate ganache seems so delicius,
    i’ve ever made sarcher torte with six layer of cake….
    what a nasty but tasty poject, i can’t contol my self and my family to not to dipp’i finger to he ganache over and over again..hehehe

  5. This does look delicious! Even though I have to admit, that it’s not an original recipe. The real Sachertorte is darker all in all – and does have a “double-inside” with more chocolate blazing in between. It’s a little taller.
    But yours seems to be very good too.
    Oh – I’m sorry… I didn’t want to criticize! But I’ve got Austrian roots as well and therefore know this recipe and have made it myself several times before. I hope you’ll forgive me!

    1. Thank you very much for your comment Raani. No need to apology🙂
      As I said in my post, I used a recipe from Internet, and it was a version of the Eduard sacher recipe, not the original sachertorte from hotel sacher. Apparently the first one doesn’t have any double insides with more chocolate, only the jam.
      As for the hight of it, I was surprise too that it didn’t rise that much, but maybe I used a pan too big for the amount of dough… Who knows!
      I will love to try your recipe, so if you had post it on your blog, could you send me the link?
      I love to have some input from a consœur such as yourself.
      Thank again! Have a lovely day🙂

OK, let's talk

