Christmas’ aftermath

I have seen that several of the bloggers I follow had posted what they made or eat for Christmas and how their day went.

Well, I have to say that, after a few days of dragging a slight cold, on December 24th I woke up with a full-blown up mega cold!

But, as my husband is an only child, dinner on Christmas Eve and lunch on Christmas Day have been my duty for a few years now.  So, like Joe from friends said: I did it anyway!

I woke up a bit late that morning to gather my strength and at midday I started cooking. The menu? Seafood, a salad with walnuts, raisins, goat cheese and a sherry vinegar & honey vinaigrette. It was similar to this one I made a few months ago.IMGP8761

The main dish was a poularde stuffed with chestnuts, raisins and macadamia nuts, garnished with a sauté of chestnuts and chanterelles (and potatoes for the kids).  For dessert I made a bouche de Noel and the fruitcake some of you know about from my previous post.

IMAG0863

Bûche de Noël

Before the poularde went into the oven, Pilar wanted to tape a video of us making cookies for Santa to post it on her blog. This is the edited version, I like it!

After dinner, we talked, sang carols and just before midnight we called my mom to wish her a merry Christmas all together. Then I went straight to bed so Santa could place the presents under the three.

On Christmas Day the kids woke us up really early in the morning to tell us that Santa has come and tree were a lot of presents under the three!! So up I went and down the stairs to watch my children open their presents with that expression on their faces that one can only witness on Christmas Day… Santa, once again, exceeded our expectations, especially mine; I got the kitchenaid I’ve been coveting for quite some time now.

The menu for that day was simpler. Foie gras with assorted jams, warm salad of red cabbage with walnuts, dried apricots and prunes, roast lamb with rosemary and garlic, accompanied by French onions caramelized with Pedro Jimenez. For dessert, more fruitcake.

IMGP5753

I’ve been trying to catch up on the posts from this week, but I’m still quite delayed…I hope you all had a lovely Christmas and that everybody is ready for New Year Eve.

As for the photographs of these jolly days, the light wasn’t right, so the pics are not so good, but here are a few from cameras and phones.

Have fun and take care. See you soon!

22 thoughts on “Christmas’ aftermath

  1. Sorry to hear you’re not well, Giovanna, and hope that you’re on the mend.
    Sounds like you had a wonderful Christmas, receiving a Kitchen Aid mixer is about the best gift a good cook can receive. Congratulations! I cannot wait to see what goodies you’ll be preparing for us.
    Wishing you and your beautiful family, Giovanna, a very Happy New Year!

    1. Hi John! Thanks for your comment🙂 I’m feeling better now. Yes, the kitchen Aid is fantastic, I already christened it with a batch of cookies😉
      I hope that you too will have a wonderful new year eve an even better new year🙂

OK, let's talk

