Salted butter caramel cream

P1090556

A week ago or so I needed a dessert; it has to be quick because I had like 15 minutes before having to serve it and, of course, it had to be delicious too.

In one of my cooking books I found a recipe for a caramel cream, which inspired me to make today’s post.

It all started with a trip to Paris that my husband made in November. He brought a bag of delicious salted butter caramel for Isabel, but I’m afraid my lovely daughter doesn’t have yet a well-educated palate…and two or three weeks later the bag was still in the kitchen. So I decided to make a salted butter caramel cream, and it turned out just great.

Here’s the recipe.

Ingredients

  • 800 ml whipping cream
  • 150 g of sugar
  • Nutmeg
  • 10 or 12 salted butter caramels

DirectionsP1090560

Whip 600 ml of cream with sugar until creamy. Refrigerate.

In a saucepan, put the remaining cream with the caramel and let them melt slowly, stirring occasionally.

Mix the whipped cream with a little nutmeg and serve in individual bowls or cups, pour one or two spoonfuls of caramel sauce in the middle and stir gently with a knife to make a swirl. Serve cold.

Enjoy!

37 thoughts on “Salted butter caramel cream

  1. Salted caramel is such a treat, Giovanna. Your making it a cream sauce is a great idea. The photos are beautiful. Do I detect the work of Pillar here? 🙂

  2. it’s always a joy to read your posts, and i am also able to improve my spanish by first reading in spanish and then in english to see how well i grasped what you wrote!
    thank you so much! i am glad that i just finished lunch,, or i would go on a cooking frenzy after today’s trip through your posts!
    z

    1. Oh, thank you! I’m glad you like my recipes and if you can check on your English at the same time, well then that’s just great!😉
      Thanks a lot your comment! Hasta pronto😉

  3. I would love to go to Paris. This looks so pretty and what an innovative way to use some salted caramels. How wonderful Isabel didn’t want them so you could make this very pretty looking dessert xx

    1. Hi!
      Paris is beautiful, I love it there, is the perfect city for walking…and just admire the surroundings🙂
      Isabel is just 13, so she’s more into m&m’s I’m afraid, which work red great for me😉
      Thanks a lot for your comment!

OK, let's talk

