Add life to days when we can’t add days to life

Today I will take a break in my series of Panamanians posts and publish a post that has been forging in my head for several weeks.

In September my daughter Isabel told me with tears in her eyes about a new song that Taylor Swift song, one of her favorite singers, had sung at Stand Up To Cancer gala. The song was dedicated to a child who had died of cancer, called Ronan.

At first I did not pay much attention because, to be honest, I thought it was just a publicity stunt. However, as she kept insisting on me that it was true, I decided to search on Google and get to the bottom of it.

Eventually ended up crying myself in front of my computer, while reading the blog Ronan’s mother has been writing in WordPress since her son was diagnosed with Neuroblastoma (a form of cancer that primarily affects children) in August 2010.

Maya Thompson opens her heart in every post and shares her hopes, anger, pain and frustration. After the death of Ronan, Maya and her “group of angels” created a foundation dedicated to finding a cure for neuroblastoma, The Ronan Thompson Foundation, and her inexhaustible work has led her to become a symbol for all those mothers who have lost a child or have sick children .

Thanks to the power of her blog, her story reached the ears of Taylor Swift who wrote this beautiful song with phrases from posts by Maya. Every time I listen to it my heart breaks, not only for the suffering of Maya, but also by the uncertainty and fear to think that something like this could happen to any of my children.

As I said before, Maya has become a celebrity in the fight against childhood cancer, but his case is not unique, there are other mothers who struggle daily with this or very similar situations.

Anne-Dauphine  Julliand is the mother of  Thaïs, who with only two years was diagnosed with a genetic disease, metachromatic leukodystrophy. Thaïs passed away, but before that Anne-Dauphine promised her daughter that she will have a beautiful life, a life she could be proud of, a life filled with love. Anne has written a beautiful book that tells her story, that of Thaïs and her family.

To celebrate and support these and other brave women who remain anonymous and to call upon the importance of their cause, I have resorted to the tools I have at hand: cooking and blogging.

Rockstar Ronan’s cookies

These cookies are dedicated to Ronan, Thaïs and many children suffering from these diseases. With this post I invite you to get involve, collaborate and participate in associations and foundations dedicated to fighting childhood cancer and other diseases that rob so many children of their childhood. As Maya would say, live like a Rockstar!

They took me a lot of work, a lot of time. I made them and re-made them a few times, and I know they are not perfect, but the time I invested in making them, with my children fluttering around me, made me feel a little bit closer to Maya and her beautiful boy.

These sites will inform you about The Ronan Thompson Foundation, Maya’s blog and the book of Anne-Dauphine. And this is the link to buy “Ronan“, the song by Taylor Swift. Maya is listed as coauthor of the song and her benefits go to the Foundation.

Thanks!

17 thoughts on “Add life to days when we can’t add days to life

  1. I wanted to skip this post as cancer stories are not good for me… my wife has been fighting 3 different cancers which started 19 years ago… she is declared in remission at the moment… but the words “in remission at the moment” say so much… but I’m glad I read this one…
    She had colon cancer, then breast, then Onco cytoma a very rare disease which can turn cancerous and then 2 growths in the ovary area, one with a diameter of 8 inches… that was the last and that was 2 years ago… so you can see why I try to skip cancer related posts…

    1. Hi Rob! I’m really sorry to know about your wife, but on the bright side now she’s doing fine. I understand why you would skip cancer related posts; I can imagine that it has been really difficult for you and your wife. But you have to keep having hope (or faith). My mother in law was diagnosed with an inoperable lung cancer and after only one round of chemo she was fine, and now 10 years later she’s healthy as a tree. See?, we have to keep the faith🙂
      I send you to both of you a really big hug.
      And thanks for reading my post and commenting🙂

    1. Hi John!
      Thank you for commenting. I highly recommend Anne-Dauphine’s book. I found the English version and updated the post, so people can fin it in Amazon, although I think it is not yet available.

  2. What a moving post.. I’m trying not to cry right now. Your baking is a beautiful tribute to the strength of these mothers and their cause. I wish the Anne-Dauphine was written in English.. my understanding of French is so limited. Sometimes we forget how lucky we are.. xx

    1. Hi Barbara,
      It took me a while to decide what to write and how to do it, but I felt I had to do it, so here it is… After reading your comment I searched for the English version and found it! I’m going to edit my post and put the link.
      Anne Dauphine and I have a friend in common, so her story is very close to me.
      So often we get tangled up in the day by day and forget how lucky we are.
      Thanks for your comment🙂

  3. I just had to comment about the cookies- what a beautiful and CLEVER way to spread the word about Ronan and the foundation.

    I am doing the same thing-
    http://ShowRoLove.blogspot.com
    Just trying to spread the word in the only way I know how.

    I know Ronan would have flipped over those cookies…I bet he would have just adored that you even got the hat right!

    1. Hi Liz! Thank you so much for your comment. You are doing a beautiful and wonderful thing with your blog. I will pop again over there when I have some time to cruise over all the nice things you have.
      Keep up the good job!🙂

  4. excellent post darling, so many people struggle along quite silently, in terrible positions without money, or back up, or support, they cannot work, and nurse their babies alone and still lose their children.. good for you for standing up for them. c

    1. Thank you Cecilia!🙂
      Yes, it has to be horrible to watch your child suffer and die, feeling powerless to fight for his/her life no matter what you do. Is true what they say that a parent shouldn’t have to witness the death of a child.
      That’s why these foundations and Associations do a great job giving hope to the families. I’m glad you agree🙂

  5. I am a so-called ‘cancer survivor’: I can assure you one looks at the world in a very different and wondrous light . . . Thank you for posting!

OK, let's talk

