November 5th 1903

At dawn on November 3 ships “Cartagena”, the “Alexander Bixio” and the American “Nashville” arrived at the Bay of Colon.

On board of the Colombian ships were 500 well-armed Colombian soldiers, commanded by the generals Tobar and Amaya, his intention was to seize the port and then march to the capital, which was made not possible because  of the American railroad authorities (covered under Herran Hay treaty ) refused the transfer of troops from Colombia to Panama City. Only the generals were transferred and once in the capital became prisoners.

While in Panama City there was celebration in Colon the residents deal with moments of great dangers and tension. The 500 soldiers were in Colon under the command of Colonel Torres. The colonel got angry and threatened to kill every man, either Panamanian or foreign that opposed the transfer of his troops to the city of Panama.

Then, began the conversations between members of the Revolutionary Council, the Major of Colon Eleazar Guerrero, with the aim of persuading Coronel Torres and the Colombian troops to leave Panama, this was achieved with a money payment (eight thousand dollars) which pacify the Colonel Torres.

Finally the ship “Orinoco” left and it was when Juan Antonio Henriquez, a member of the Revolutionary Council of Colon sent a telegram to Panama: “Only now, 7:30 pm can be said that Panama’s independence is assured.”

And these are the events occurred in November 5, 1903, which are commemorated on this date.

Source: Sendero Panama Naturalist Guide Forum

Inadvertently, I may lead some of my readers to think that I was in Panama. Well, I wish! No, I’m right here in Madrid, braving the cold weather as good as I can. But my thoughts are across the Atlantic with my family and fellow Panamanians.

Today’s reblog is one of my favorite Panamanian dishes; I love it and make it very often at home, for friends and family.

Rice with chicken

Ingredients

  • 700 grams of rice
  • 1 whole chicken cut in quarter
  • 3 tablespoons tomato paste
  • 1 diced onion
  • 3 tomatoes chopped
  • 2 green peppers chopped
  • ½ cup of olives stuffed with peppers
  • ½ cup capers
  • ½ cup of mixed vegetables
  • Oil for sauté, about 3 tablespoons
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 litre water

Directions

Season the chicken with salt and pepper and put it to brown in a large pot, turning so it browned on all sides. Then, remove the chicken and in the same oil souté the onion, tomato, tomato paste and peppers.

In the meantime we are going to bone the chicken. When the vegetables are sautéed we add chicken and water to the pot and cover, when it starts to boil, we lower the heat and continue cooking for 10 minutes.

After that time, add the rice, stirring well and verify the salt (and fix it if you need to). Cook the rice covered for 20 minutes, then add the mixed vegetables, the olives and capers and leave it on low heat for about 5 or 10 more minutes.

Enjoy!

17 thoughts on “November 5th 1903

  1. Initially 1903 escaped my attention . . .and I lived in fear for you . . .Enjoy your time in Spain . . . I’ll enjoy the recipe you have posted . . .’thank you’!

    1. Thanks Barbara!
      I know that sometimes I am a bit annoying with these things, but I like to preserve my roots and making them known to other people… I’m really glad you liked it🙂

  2. Another holiday, another history lesson. Before long, Giovanna, I’ll know more of Panama’s history than I remember of my own! 🙂
    Thanks for taking the time to explain things for us.

  3. He disfrutatdoe muchisimo la historia – es siempre bueno aprender algo de otras culturas. Y tu arroz con pollo – ¡que rico! Espero que lo has pasado bien con tus amigos y familia.

    1. Hi Cocomino!
      When I lived in Panama we ate rice every day, but now even though I cook it very often, I don’t every day, but just to add some variety to our diet. I have to add anyway that rice is my children favorite dish😉
      Thanks for your comment!

  4. I’d rather be in Madrid than London. We just got our first frost and its been freezing all day. I should be used to it by now but I will never get used to it!

  5. I love the look of your chicken and rice dish and I’m sure it would be very popular with everyone in my family. That’s a great little bit of history you’ve shared xx

OK, let's talk

