Violet and grape cupcakes

A couple of weeks ago, a good friend gave us a big bunch of grapes from their vineyards in Milla de Tera, Zamora. They were really good, a variety called Muscat Blanc, characterized by the small size of the grapes and the tightness of the clusters. But after a few days they started to go bad, so I decided to bake and cook with them. The previous recipe and this one are the result. And there’s an extra: A grape marmalade.

Violet and grape cupcakes

Yield: 12 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1 ¼ cup all-purpose flour
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1 ¼ tsp. baking powder
  • ¾ cup sugar
  • 6 Tbsp. unsalted butter (85 g)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tsp violet essence. You can add up to 2 tsp, it depends on how intense you like the flavor of violets. I prefer it very subtle.
  • ¾ cup milk

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F (180 º C) and line a muffin tin with cupcake liners. Sift together the flour, salt, and baking powder. Beat the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add the egg and violet essence to the butter mixture and mix until combined. Alternate adding the milk and dry ingredients to the egg mixture. Mix each addition until just combined. Fill the cupcake liners to 2/3 of their capacity. Bake for 15-18 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool on a cooling rack.

Grape marmalade

Ingredients

  • 2 cups of grapes, preferably seedless, but if all you have is a bunch of grapes with seeds, then we will take care of those too
  • 1 cup of sugar. You may want to adjust the amount of sugar in the filling depending on the sweetness of your grapes, but the general rule is that for each cup of grape pulp, you should add 1/2 cup sugar.
  • Water
  • 1 Tbsp. lime juice
  • ½ Tbsp. corn starch mixed with 1 Tbsp. cold water. You can skip this step, but it helps to speed the process.

Directions

Remove the skin of grapes and cut into small pieces.

Cook the skin of grapes in a medium saucepan over medium heat for 15-20 minutes or until tender. Add only the amount of water that is sufficient to prevent the skin of the grapes from sticking to the pot. Do not add more than half a cup. Remove from heat.

Cook the pulp or the rest of the grapes in a medium saucepan over medium heat until tender, about 15 minutes. Do not add water.

Pour the pulp in a strain to remove the seeds. You can cast the pulp directly on the pot containing the grape skins.

Add sugar to the pot and put it back on the fire. Cook the mixture stirring frequently for about 10 minutes, or until it begins to thicken. At this point you may add the corn starch and water mixture a little at a time while stirring. Once the mixture thickens, remove the filling from the heat and transfer to another bowl to cool. Now you could put it in jars to preserving it or use it right away.

Violet Frosting

Ingredients

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, cubed
  • 2 ½ cups of powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp. violet essence
  • Violet Icing Color

Directions

Whip the butter cubes in an electric mixer on medium speed for about 5 minutes. Scrape down the sides. Reduce the speed to low and gradually add the sugar. Add the violet essence and whip again on medium speed for 3 minutes, stopping once to scrape down the sides. Finally, add the color until you achieve the tone you like and whip until it’s evenly distributed.

Assembly

Using a small paring knife, cut out the center of each cupcake at about a 45 degree angle so that you have cut out a cone shape. Add the filling into the hole using a spoon or pastry bag. Remove the bottom part of the cone and replace the top on the cupcake. Decorate with the frosting and voilà!

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

26 thoughts on “Violet and grape cupcakes

  1. Mad Dog October 26, 2012 at 20:09 Reply

    Glaseado fantástico!

    • Bluejellybeans October 27, 2012 at 11:52 Reply

      ¡Hola MD!
      La verdad es que esta vez no quedé mu satisfecha con el glaseado, porque lo metí en la nevera para conservarlo y luego cuando intenté usarlo estaba muy duro, entonces tuve la genial idea de darle unos segundos de microondas…big mistake!!! La textura ya no volvió a ser la adecuada. Pero seguían estando ricos, así que seguí adelante con el post ;)
      ¡Gracias por tu comentario!

  2. ailovebaking October 26, 2012 at 20:22 Reply

    I was waiting for this post! Beautiful cupcakes Giovanna! My son loves grapes so I will have to save your marmalade recipe : )

    • Bluejellybeans October 27, 2012 at 11:57 Reply

      Hi Angela! Thank you very much for your comment. They turned out very good, but had a little mishap with the frosting…so I’m not 100% happy with their look…The marmalade was delicious, no mishaps there ;)
      Have a nice weekend!

  3. trixfred30 October 26, 2012 at 23:23 Reply

    Brilliant blue colour – they look amazing

    • Bluejellybeans October 27, 2012 at 11:58 Reply

      Thank you! But I was aiming for violet… ;) Have a nice weekend!

  4. niasunset October 27, 2012 at 00:28 Reply

    what a beautiful colours… I can’t eat them, I watch… :) Thank you, love, nia

  5. bulldogsturf October 27, 2012 at 04:31 Reply

    I love cupcakes….

    • Bluejellybeans October 27, 2012 at 12:08 Reply

      Me too ;)
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  6. Food,Photography & France October 27, 2012 at 09:55 Reply

    Very serious Kandy Koloured Kup Kakes:)

  7. Tandy October 27, 2012 at 11:37 Reply

    I will keep an eye out for violet essence :)

    • Bluejellybeans October 27, 2012 at 12:13 Reply

      I hope you find it. I bought mine in my last visit to Paris :)
      Thanks for stopping by, have a wonderful weekend :)

  8. thecompletecookbook October 27, 2012 at 16:18 Reply

    Beautiful! Not sure I have seen violet essence here, will have to put it on my list to look for. :-) Mandy

    • Bluejellybeans October 28, 2012 at 12:19 Reply

      Hi Mandy!
      Thank you for your comment :) I bought it for macarons for it delicious too in cupcakes.
      Have a nice sunday :)

  9. ChgoJohn October 27, 2012 at 19:04 Reply

    3 tasty recipes in 1 post! You’re going to spoil us, Giovanna! Your grape marmalade sounds wonderful and I like the idea of cupcakes infused with violet flavoring. I must admit, though, that the coloring of that frosting is just incredible! It really does capture one’s eye.

    • Bluejellybeans October 28, 2012 at 12:26 Reply

      Hi John!
      Yes, 3×1 ;) The marmalade was very good, but we had to eat it almost right away because I don’t have those jars for preserving, but next time I’ll follow your posts on making preserves.
      I’m glad you liked them.
      Have a nice Sunday :)

  10. Promenade Claire October 27, 2012 at 21:48 Reply

    So pretty! And I’d love to try the grape marmalde, it looks and sounds delicious – lucky you to have grapes from a friends vine !

    • Bluejellybeans October 28, 2012 at 22:41 Reply

      Thank you Claire!
      Thanks for your comment :) I think I made good use of the grapes, yes. She also gave me tomatoes from her allotment and they were incredible, the difference from the ones we buy at the store is tremendous, now I understand you and Cecilia a bit more ;)

  11. Barbara Bamber | justasmidgen October 28, 2012 at 04:35 Reply

    I’ve not made or even seen grape marmalade, just jam, this looks so yummy.. and my eye was definitely taken in by the pretty photo of the icing up close! I love the idea of violet flavoring in a cake! And purple’s one of my favorite colors:) xx

    • Bluejellybeans October 28, 2012 at 22:51 Reply

      Hi Barbara!
      At first I didn’t know the difference between jam and marmalade, but looking for something to do with my grapes I found this method and it seems so simple that I thought why not? Next step, preserving…
      I’m glad you like the cupcakes, I had some accidents with the frosting, but at the end the photos were good enough for posting ;)
      G
      PS. The other day I commented on Spree’s blog and I called her Barbara!! She send me and email and told me that she was flattered to be confused with you, but that her name was Antoinette (which I know, I love her blog)…I was so embarrassed! But she was very nice. :) I guess that was my mental lapse of the week ;)

      • Barbara Bamber | justasmidgen October 29, 2012 at 01:00 Reply

        Hahaha.. her blog and mine have similarities.. never worry about that sort of thing, I’m always forgetting names myself :D

  12. Karen October 28, 2012 at 12:35 Reply

    You would win any cupcake competition with your pretty cupcakes.

    • Bluejellybeans October 28, 2012 at 22:55 Reply

      Ohh, I don’t know about that! But I really enjoy making these things and sharing them with my family and friends, which of course includes you :)
      Thanks for your comment :)

  13. [...] By bluejellybeans [...]

OK, let's talk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 714 other followers

