Spanish tortilla

Hi! I’m back from my short holyday in Paris. I had a wonderful time, despite the weather… I walked a lot and ate a bit too much, but hey! It was France, what was I supposed to do?

Anyway, I left with a French recipe and I come back with a Spanish tapa. This is like one of the most popular dishes in Spain.

For me, a real Spanish tortilla only has eggs, potatoes and onion, that’s it. Some people don’t like onion and that’s ok too, you can take those out, it still will be right. But that’s just me, you may add other things if you like, courgettes, aubergines, peas, chorizo…bearing in mind that you have to try it at least once without any additions.

Ok, that said it seems a little silly from me to give you any recipe, because it is really simple and there are lots of recipes on Internet already. But I have to write something to accompany the photographs, right?

The quantities here are for a big or medium tortilla, for 5 or six people if you are having it for lunch or dinner with a salad. But if you are going for the tapa approach (that is, cut into bite-size pieces and serve with bread) then you’ll have enough for a small gathering of friends.

Ingredients

  • 6 or 8 large eggs
  • 500-600 g potatoes
  • 1 small onion
  • Olive oil
  • Salt

Directions

Wash, peel and cut the potatoes into thin slices. This is a good moment to use that mandoline. Peel and slice the onion.

Heat olive oil in a pan, (enough to cover the potatoes) and fry the potatoes together with the sliced onion at a moderate temperature until they are soft, but not brown. Remove and drain over paper towels, then mix with the beaten eggs. Add salt to taste.

Remove the excess oil from the pan or use another one with just a thin layer of oil in it. Pour the mixture and fry slowly at a medium- low temperature on one side.

It doesn’t take long; when you see that it is set on one side and starting to set on top is time to flip it over. This may seems tricky, but you just need a dish bigger than the pan or a flat lid. Put it on top and flip with a quick and steady movement.

Now slid carefully back into the pan to finish cooking and allow it to set for a few more minutes. Some people like their tortilla to be a little runny, but I like it well done and firm, so the cooking time is up to you.

I hope you enjoy this recipe and let me know how you like it better, with or without onions. Do you like other veggies in it?

For other recipes of tortilla de patatas you can go to Chica Andaluza or Hot cheap & easy, theirs are great.

Have a nice day!

42 thoughts on “Spanish tortilla

  1. A great brunch idea!
    I agree, there are some things that should be kept simple. You can always add the chorizo on the side, the spiciness and flavors of the meat will not be blanketed by eggs, potatoes, tortillas.

  2. WOW! Paris…. One of the most romantic cities in the world.🙂 Welcome back dear Giovanna, your recipe is amazing and seems so delicious too. I am sure I would love it. Thank you, love, nia

    1. Hi dear Nia! Yes, I love Paris, is wonderful🙂 Thank you for your nice comment. I’m trying to get back in the rhythm and start blogging and commenting more often… wish me luck😉 !

    1. Hi Bam! Thanks for your comment🙂 We love tortilla and yes, this something you can eat at any time😉
      G

OK, let's talk

