Chicken rolls with blue cheese sauce

Chicken rolls with blue cheese sauce

Once again the school year ends. And though the days are longer, I think I do less than normal with the children at home from school at noon and all the functions, concerts and festivals to commemorate the end of school year… This is the reason why lately I’ve been a bit absent from the blogosphere. But I promise to make amends.

Today’s recipe is easy and tasty, perfect for children and adults. The Roquefort sauce is amazing and can be used with other meats too (just the other night we took it with beef tenderloin steaks … soo good!) but you can use other blue cheese if you like, such as Cabrales or Bleu d’Auvergne.

Ingredients

For 4 people

  •  4 chicken fillets
  •  4 slices of York ham
  •  4 slices of cheese (I used Havarti cheese)
  •  1 onion
  •  200 g blue cheese (Roquefort)
  •  200 ml cream
  •  Olive oil
  •  Salt and pepper

Directions

Place the chicken fillets stretched on a flat surface covered with a piece of plastic wrap, add salt and pepper and place one slice of ham and another of cheese over each one. Wrap the rolls very tight and pay special attention to both ends to avoid water to get in while cooking.

Put them in a pot with boiling water and cook for about 10 minutes. Then remove the plastic wrap and set aside.

To make the cheese sauce, sauté the onion in a skillet with some of olive oil. When it begins to brown, add the blue cheese, stir and crush the mixture. Add the cream and let the sauce to get some consistency. Remove from heat.

Just before serving, brown the rolls in a little olive oil (optional), then cut into slices and pour over a bit of cheese sauce. Decorate the plate with some parsley and place the remaining sauce in a bowl and bring it to the table so everyone can add more sauce if desired.

Enjoy!

Speaking of end of term, look what I made last weekend for a benefit sale at my kids’ school.

    

35 thoughts on “Chicken rolls with blue cheese sauce

    1. Hi Mandy!
      Normally I’m not a big fan of blue cheese, neither are my kids, but we found this sauce delicious, maybe because the taste and smell of the cheese is disguised by the cream… So I think both of you will enjoy it, but you can always eat only the chicken😉
      I’m glad you like the cookies too!

  1. I love blue cheese… And this recipe looks like a quick way to whip up a favorite combination of flavors. I hope you post those cookies..they’re so pretty for a Bake Sale!

    1. Hi Barbara!Thanks for your comment🙂 I’ll post them soon, hopefully before leaving for the beach on july ;)The chicken is a recipe to have at hand for an improvised dinner, good and easy.

  2. WOW! The chicken seems so beautiful and delicious BUT the end part fascinated me, I loved these lovely cookies… You are so nice. Thank you, love, nia

    1. Thanks to you Nia for your lovely comment🙂 I have to say it, I am very proud of my cookies🙂 They were good and tasty and they sold out very quickly…Love,Giovanna

  3. I adore blue cheese and will be buying some stilton in the UK to take back to Spain so can give this a go! Those cookies are incredible – I expect you sold out quickly!

    1. ¡Hola Tanya!Si, se vendieron bastante bien. Hasta que probé esta receta a mi no me gustaba mucho el queso azul, pero la salsa está tan rica que hasta a los niños le gustó… Espero que tu amiga termine de recuperarse y que te tengamos muy pronto por aquí, besos
      Giovanna

  4. I can only imagine how busy you’ve been these past couple of weeks. Still you found time to not only bake cookies but to decorate them all, too. You’re a marvel, Giovanna!
    I like that your wraps combine both ham & chicken. They sound delicious, especially with the addition of bleu cheese. Yum!

    1. Thanks John!Yes, I barely stop but at the end of the day, when I see all the things that I didn’t do…I often feel disappointed. But not last weekend, I had a lot of fun baking and decorating the cookies and they were a success! ;)The wraps are beautiful and tasty, and we can use different sauces depending on the guests and occasion.

  5. Roquefort – a favourite of mine. It always reminds me of being in the South of France as a teenager and learning to roll my rrrrr’s ! Delicious and lovely to see you back blogging and sharing recipes!

    1. Hi!
      Thanks for stopping by🙂 I have to say that I was very proud of those cookies and yes, they were gone very fast🙂 But now I have to make more for my children…

OK, let's talk

