Easy tabbouleh

Temperature is rising so we are back again to the light and refreshing menus of the summer. Today’s recipe is for one of those fresh, light and delicious dishes that transport us to a terrace by the sea or an oasis in the desert, because is a classic  Levantine Arab salad, known as Tabbouleh or Tabulé. Traditionally it is made of bulgur, but I used semolina (couscous) which is the way my mother in law does it.

This is a very basic and easy version, but you can find other variations on the blogosphere, for instance, Chica Andaluza made this week two versions that look amazing and I’m sure taste even better, so go over there and take a look.

Ingredients

  • 300 g of couscous (semolina)
  • 4 large tomatoes
  • 1 cucumber
  • 2 large onions
  • 2 lemons
  • ½ bunch fresh parsley
  • ½ bunch fresh mint
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Sherry vinegar to taste

Directions

Follow the instructions of the box to make the semolina. Normally the one you find in the stores is very easy to make. The proportion is 1 semolina and 1.2 salted boiling water (one cup will be enough for 6 people). Leave it to soak, covered, for 2 to 3 minutes, and then stir the grains with a fork. Reserve.

Wash and peel the tomatoes, cucumbers and onions. Cut into small dices and pour all into a large bowl with the juice and seeds.

Add the lemon juice, finely chopped parsley and mint, oil, salt, pepper and vinegar. Mix well.

Pour the couscous into the preparation and mix well.

Cover and let stand in refrigerator for at least 3 hours. Serve cold with fresh mint leaves or parsley for garnish.

Enjoy!

32 thoughts on “Easy tabbouleh

      1. Thanks! I just went grocery shopping and totally forgot it, b/c it was not on my list. I don’t even know if that is sold here. May at like the epicurean market! I’ll have to stop by tomorrow

  1. And you’ve been reading my mind🙂 I was thinking the other day that I should find a recipe to try if I can make tabbouleh. The best tabbouleh I’ve had was in Egypt 2 years ago…I’m definitely writing down this recipe!

  2. This sounds so light and refreshing, Giovanna. Just perfect for the hot weather that’s coming. I enjoy pasta salads in the Summer and using couscous is a great way to add a little variety. Have a great day!

  3. I love it, just waiting for the tomatoes to grow!! not long? maybe .. well not too long, and the cucumbers.. THEN we will be eating this as often as i can! love it.. c

    1. Well of course, is a cold salad. Maybe you were thinking about Couscous, which is like a hot stew.
      Thanks for your comment Mr. R. You should try it sometime, is really good🙂

  4. Mmmm…sounds yummy!! I do like tabbouleh/couscous. I do my own oven dried tomatoes and mix some of that in along with garlic and parmesan cheese.

  5. I saw Chica’s version and now seeing yours I’m wishing it to get warmer and then I know I will be eating these lovely summery salads. Beautifully presented Giovanna!

OK, let's talk

