Saint Isidore’s Wafers

Today is San Isidro Labrador, Patron Saint of Madrid (and of farmers). It’s a big festivity and is characterized by colourful processions, festivals, attractions and various traditional performances. The celebration mainly takes place in the Meadow of San Isidro where people like to have picnics near the Saint’s shrine.

This painting by Francisco de Goya can give you an idea of the appearance of the Prairie during this feast in the late eighteenth century.

Last year I baked the famous Rosquillas del Santo, today I bring to you wafers, more simple and easy to make but also delicious. These are a very good example of the Madrid’s popular cuisine.

Saint Isidore’s Wafers

Ingredients

  • 50 g butter, melted
  • 50 g flour
  • 50 g of icing sugar
  • 2 egg whites

Directions

Preheat oven to 200 ° C (390 ºF) and cover a baking tray with baking paper.

Melt the butter in the microwave. Beat egg whites until foamy. Mix sugar and flour in a bowl, add egg whites and butter and mix until creamy and smooth.

Pour a tablespoon of dough onto the cookie sheet and spread with a spatula, giving a rectangular shape and making sure it is a very thin layer.

Bake for 3 minutes (this is very important!), remove from oven and quickly roll up on themselves before they harden.

These waffles are the perfect companions of ice creams and milkshakes.

Enjoy!

34 thoughts on “Saint Isidore’s Wafers

  1. These are just fantastic, do you make them one at a time? I think I could make these.. and what a beautiful painting of the feast day! c

    1. Hi C!
      Thank you so much for your comment🙂 I made two or three at a time, because they do get cold very fast. Yes, they are very easy to make, you just have to be careful with the time, so they don’t over cooked and be too stiff to roll and make sure to spread them really thin so they are more crunchy when cold. Let me know if you make them and how it goes😉

  2. These wafers look fantastic! I can’t wait to make them. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe. I guess you should not bake too many at one time before they start to harden?🙂 Mandy

    1. Hi Mandy!
      Thanks for your comment🙂 It was my first time trying to make these (and at the third attempt I succeed!). The recipe, as you can see is quite simple and they are fun to make. I baked only two or three at a time, is important to watch the time (from minute 2:30 be ready to take them out) and to be fast rolling them (I used a small and thin rolling pin I have for fondant), good luck and let me know if you decide to make them🙂

      1. Hi Giovanna, I made these this afternoon but somehow they didn’t seem to work out as I hoped. The first batch that I baked on the parchment paper became one with the paper (oops) then did the balance of the batches directly on the baking sheet – mine have stayed soft – do you know why this is? I made them extremely thin and tried different baking times to test my theory but alas they have all remained soft and quite “cakey”, not crispy like a wafer at all. What do you recommend? Thanks.🙂 Mandy

        1. Hi Mandy!
          Sorry it took me so long to answer. I’m very happy to know that you have tried one of my recipes🙂 Thanks!
          About the softness of the wafers, I can think in two posibilities; first, that they are still too thick or (second) that they still need a bit more oven time. In the first case I’ll say don’t be afraid of spreading the dough, it has to be like a stain on the paper. In the second case, I suggest that after rolling all the wafers, you put them again the oven for a couple of minutes or less.
          I hope it helps, but if it doesn’t then let me know and I’ll think in something else, ok.
          Cheers, Giovanna

  3. And the very next blog I open has the English, I may have preferred the other version as this now all looks too delicious, I’m now suffering a tang of hunger.

  4. Oh dear Giovanna, what a beautiful post… Happy Celebrations… Goya is one of my favorite painters… I love this one too. And these wafers seems so lovely and great fun (in the kitchen🙂 I am not sure can I make it) I loved it so much… Thank you my beautiful friend, with my love, nia

    1. Dear Nia, thanks a lot for your nice comment🙂 Goya is fantastic, I agree. I’m sure you can make them and your son and your love will love them, so come on! Give them a try😉
      Thanks again Nia, love, Giovanna

  5. Hola Guapa! No sabia que San Isidro era el patron de Madrid, he aprendido algo nuevo hoy! We celebrated in our village today but we didn´t have any of these gorgeous wafers..next year I´ll have to make them!

    1. Hola Tanya!
      Si, San Isidro es el patrón de Madrid porque era madrileño.
      I didn’t know that at Malaga you celebrate this day too, see? I’ve learned something new too😉
      I tried 3 times before they were fine, but the recipe is very simple, I just needed to “cogerle el punto”.

OK, let's talk

