Cuban-style Hash

♪♪ ♫ ♫ 1-2-3-4 come on baby say you love me 5-6-7 times 8-9-10-11 I’m just gonna keep on counting Until you’re mine… ♫ ♪

I’m going through one of the books I bought last Christmas in Panama. A book with “authentic Cuban recipes from Gloria and Emilio Estefan restaurants“. So far I’ve only made a few recipes, but I’m planning on making them all and share the best ones with you.

Picadillo is one of the most popular dishes in Cuba. It can be eaten just like that, with some white rice and plantains, or it can be used as a filling for patties and stuffed potatoes (delicious!). I hope you enjoy this fantastic recipe and don’t forget to come back for the stuffed potatoes recipe later on.

Ingredients

  • 4 teaspoons olive oil
  • 3 pounds lean ground beef
  • 1 green pepper, cored, seeded and chopped into small pieces
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 teaspoons salt
  • ½ teaspoon ground black pepper
  • 1 pinch ground cumin
  • 1 teaspoon oregano
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 1  8-ounce can tomato puree
  • 1 ¼ cup dry wine (this step is optional and I’m not sure if is white or red wine. I used red. I hope some of my Cuban readers may  enlighten me)
  • ½ cup raisins (optional)
  • ½ cup pimiento-stuffed olives
  • 2 tablespoons capers (optional)

Directions

In a large pot, heat 1 teaspoon olive oil over medium heat. Add ground beef and brown, stirring occasionally so it does not brown too much. Remove meat and drain all excess fat.

Add remaining olive oil to the same pot and heat over medium heat. Add green pepper, onion and garlic and sauté until onions are translucent.

Add the meat and the remaining ingredients. Let the hash begins to boil. Then reduce the heat, cover and cook for 30 to 40 minutes, stirring frequently.

Remove bay leaves and serve over white rice with plantains (patacones or tajadas) and black beans.

Enjoy!

From Estefan Kitchen

40 thoughts on “Cuban-style Hash

  1. This looks and sounds wonderful! I can’t wait to try it! I’ve never cooked a traditional Cuban recipe, but I’ve always wanted to. Thank you for posting this!

  2. This looks so good, Giovanna, and I bet it’s great over the rice, just as you described. I, myself, would love to make a sandwich with it to fill a crunchy bread roll. Yum! I look forward to seeing your stuffed potato recipe. I bet those are delicious, too!

    1. Lo siento! I thought that “de Cuba” was your blog name, referring to your nationality or your family’s Now I have to find the recipe for picadillo puertorriqueño😉 Thanks for your comment!

OK, let's talk

