Butter Cookies

I think I need a laptop. We are 6 at home; we only have one TV, one MacBook and one PC. The Mac is my husband’s and the PC is mine; the problem is that as soon as the girls are back from school they are at my desk, checking their mail, tweeting or playing…Javier is more a Wii fan, so he’s not one I have to fight with, but the girls…when is not Pilar is Isabel, so from 5:30 until 10:30 at night I can forget about writing and posting anything.

In the mornings I have Fernando with me and I can’t be sitting on my desk all morning, I have to be with him, at his room while he plays or seat beside him while he watches TV or plays in the garden… so a laptop is the solution, because I can take it wherever I want. Right now, for instance, I’m writing this post at my husband mac while Fernando is watching Mickey Mouse. I don’t know how other bloggers manage to read and comment the posts on others blogs (including mine) and still have time to write their own, plus taking care of their families, homes, jobs AND cook and/or take photographs!!  Magicians is what I call them🙂

The upside about the whole situation is that I have no other option but to go into the kitchen and cook, that’s good, isn’t it? Today I’m posting one easy recipe for some incredibly delicious cookies.

Butter Cookies

These butter cookies literally melt in your mouth and have a salty taste that makes them almost impossible to resist. I topped them with pistachios, even though the original recipe ask for almonds, so basically you can use any dry fruit you have at hand, I think raisins may work fine too.

Ingredients

  • 1 cup butter at room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour, sifted or stirred before measuring
  • Dash salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • Blanches almond halves (or any other dray fruit)

Directions

Cream butter and sugar until light fluffy. Add vanilla. Sift together flour, salt and baking powder.  Stir dry ingredients into butter mixture; mixing until well blended. Shape dough into small balls. Place on ungreased cookie sheets; press and almond half into the top of each ball. Bake butter cookies at 300ºF (150ºF) for 20 minutes, or until just lightly browned.

Enjoy!

40 thoughts on “Butter Cookies

  1. Mmmmm! Even though I have started using more oil than butter in my baking, I think cookies like these need that lovely buttery taste! Hope you manage to sort out a laptop for yourself, it sounds like you need one🙂

    1. Hola Tanya!
      Thanks for your comment🙂 Casualmente ayer hice unos muffins de chocolate que en lugar de mantequilla llevaban aceite… A ver si subo la receta este finde.
      El laptop me temo que tendrá que esperar hasta mi cumpleaños, el día de la madre, Navidad o Reyes…😉 En cualquier casi creo que mi marido a cogido la indirecta…

  2. Such a simple recipe, Giovanna, but I bet they’re mouth-wateringly good! There’s nothing like a good butter cookie and yours, pistachios and all, definitely sound good!

  3. I think you deserve a laptop.. now go get one!! I don’t know how we (and you) do it.. I opened my email to see well over 100 posts to catch up on because yesterday was a crazy day. But.. I poured a glass of wine, put up my aching feet and began reading and it was sooo nice.. Like opening yours and seeing that incredible first photo and thinking to myself “well, now.. would you just look at that!!” xoxo Smidge

    1. Hi Greg!
      I’m glad you like them… Yes, I do remember those times or when you didn’t worry if you forgot your cell at home… Ahh! are we that old?!!😉
      Have a nice weekend

  4. Right, any ‘topping’ would work – I might try a variety of things.
    Thankyou for bringing awareness to the simple, versatile, and always delicious butter cookie!

  5. Oh dear Giovanna we have something similiar like yours, but there is some different points. For example after cooking in the oven, we pour a boiled water (boiled with sugar) and then we leave cookies to be taken the water… and then you leave them to cool and eat as a dessert after the mean…
    http://www.turkishcookbook.com/2005/10/sekerpare.php

    Thank you dear Giovanna, I will try next time your recipe it would be so delicious for tea time. With my love, nia

  6. If I weren’t on a diet I would make these tonight. I love pistachios! I’m still going to print out the recipe. It will be the first time I use this WordPress feature. We will see how it works Gi!

  7. My lap top has been acting up and needs maintenance and I totally understand what you mean. A laptop sure makes life easier.
    Back to your amazing cookies. I wish I had one of these with my cup of tea. Mmmm heavenly

OK, let's talk

