Happy Easter

«Why do you seek the living one among the dead? » (Lk 24,5)

One of the most widespread practices on the Western countries to celebrate Easter Sunday is the hunting for Easter eggs. In Panama we have a very hot climate and the idea of laying eggs (even if they are beautifully decorated) for a long time in the open seems a bit risky; so the truth is that as a child I didn’t enjoy many of these hunts. But we Panamanians do not like being left behind, so we also have our eggs recipe, one that is great for this occasion, but not only.

It is true that by their size they are more like quail eggs, but that’s ok, we increase the number and the more the merrier.

I hope you like my milky eggs recipe, it was one of my favorite sweets when I was a child; nowadays I don’t eat them very often, but only because my metabolism is not what it used to be… This is a republish of an old post. I hope you don’t mind.

Happy Easter!

Ingredients

  • 1 liter of milk
  • 750 grams of sugar
  • 2 tablespoons flour or cornstarch
  • 1 cinnamon stick

Directions

In a saucepan pour milk, add sugar and cinnamon and let this to simmer on medium / low heat, stiring occasionally until mixture begins to boil (careful not to spill), in a bowl mix the cornstarch or flour with a  some warm milk to dissolve it and then add to the saucepan. This step is optional, but helps speed up the process so I recommend it.

We must continue stirring and watching it does not stick. The mixture is ready when golden brown and a consistency that allows to see the bottom of the saucepan when you stir with a spoon.

Let it cool a bit and while still warm, form the eggs and cover with a icing sugar,  if you like you can wrap them in colorful paper (it’s the way they look in Panama).

Enjoy!

28 thoughts on “Happy Easter

  1. What a beautiful eggs… I loved it dear Giovanna, Thank you. In different cultures we learn so many beautiful things. This was amazing, I want to try one day, Happy Easter, with my love, nia

    1. Hi Nia, thanks for your comment🙂
      I’ve been crazy busy with the kids… a lot of parks and trips and no time to write, but now they are back to school, so I have a bit more of time🙂

    1. Muchas gracias por tu comentario Tanya!
      Espero que hayas tenido una muy feliz pascua de resurrección. Yo no he parado, los niños han estado de vacaciones y no he tenido mucho tiempo de escribir… Pero ya han vuelto al cole Yay!!

  2. One of my favorite things about blogging is learning about the traditions and customs of other bloggers. You’ve taught me a great deal, Giovanna, about Panama and your new home, Spain. Thank you for that. I hope you and yours shared a happy Easter!

  3. These are such pretty eggs.. and so much yummier than oodles of gooey chocolate? Ok, well, I still like chocolate, but this is a great change. I went to an Easter party in Scottsdale.. all the chocolates had begun to melt.. the kids had fun, but it was pretty messy! xo Hope your Easter was awesome!!

    1. Haha! Thanks Smidgen🙂 I love chocolate too, but it’s true that these eggs don’t melt (like m&m, the melt in your mouth…)
      Happy I hope yours was a great Easter😉

OK, let's talk

