Vanilla Cupcakes

The wonderful vanilla cupcakes of Billy Reece, owner of Billy’s Bakery from NY, were the perfect canvas to experiment a bit with my décor techniques. I used two materials, Angel Feather Icing and rolled fondant.

I’m posting today the recipes for the cupcakes and the icing, both are amazing, I mean it. You have to try these two together ASAP.

Remember that both, icing and fondant are white, so you can personalize adding colours and textures; the goal is to have fun in the kitchen.

Ingredients

Cupcakes

  • 1 ¾ cup cake flour, not self-rising
  • 1 ¼ cup unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1 tablespoon baking powder
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 4 large eggs
  • 1 cup whole milk
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Angel Feather Icing

  • 2 large egg whites
  • 170 g ¾ cup) of white sugar
  • 1 dl (1/3 cup) corn syrup (here are some alternatives)
  • 2 tablespoon cold water
  •  ¼ teaspoon cream of Tartar (alternative you can use 1 tsp. fresh lemon juice)
  •  ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract or almond extract
  • Food coloring (optional)

Directions

Cupcakes

Preheat oven to 325 degrees. Line cupcake pans with paper liners; set aside. In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, combine flours, sugar, baking powder, and salt; mix on low speed until combined. Add butter, mixing until just coated with flour.

In a large glass measuring cup, whisk together eggs, milk, and vanilla. With mixer on medium speed, add wet ingredients in 3 times, scraping down sides of bowl before each addition; beat until ingredients are incorporated but do not overbeat.

Divide batter evenly among liners, filling about 2/3 full. Bake, rotating pan halfway through, until a cake tester inserted in the center comes out clean, 17 to 20 minutes.

Transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. Once cupcakes have cooled, use a small offset spatula or piping bag to frost tops of each cupcake. Decorate with sprinkles, if desired. Serve at room temperature.

Icing

Place all the ingredients except but the vanilla into the top of a double boiler with fast-boiling water below.

Take your handheld electric mixer and beat the mixture until the icing has stiff peaks.

Remove the double boiler from heat, add the vanilla extract and keep on beating until it is thick, glossy.

You can add drops of food coloring if you like.

Enjoy!

Adapted from: Marthastewart.com and cakejournal.com

27 thoughts on “Vanilla Cupcakes

  1. As much as I like the decorating possibilities of fondant, there’s something about icing, probably its creaminess, that I thoroughly enjoy. Or, maybe it’s the sprinkles. 😉
    Either way, Giovanna, they look delicious!

    1. Thank you John!
      Yes, I prefer icing too. I like when you take a big bite and can’t help but end with a dirty nose at the end.
      I’m glad you like them; they were really fun to make🙂

  2. Wow Giovanna – what patience and craftmanship! You´ve really excelled yourself here and I was so pleased to read your tip about replacing corn syrup as I´ver never seen it here (or did you manage to find it?). Beautifully iced cupcakes!

    1. Hola Tanya!
      Me alegro mucho de que te gustaran🙂 Yo me lo pasé muy bien decorandolos, con la ayuda de Isabel en este caso. A mi tambien me pareció muy útil lo de los sustitutos para el sirope de maíz, aquí no es muy fácil de encontrar. Yo compré una botella en una tienda que se llama Taste of America. No recuerdo si precio, pero en cualquier caso compensa porque te dura muchísimo. Si quieres te mando una por correo…
      Thanks for your comment, sorry about my answer all in Spanish, is easier for me😉

      1. De nada – y la respuesta en Español es buena para mí. Mucha de mi familia aquí en España me dicen que tengo que empezar a esbribir en Español tambien! Y gracias por la oferta. Voy a buscar en las paginas amarillas a ver si hay una de estas tiendas en Málaga o Granaga porque el nombre me suena. Que lo pases bien hoy con la familia!

  3. I’ve made Billy’s cupcakes as well:) And Angel Feather Icing:) So now.. where do you get your fondant? Or do you make it? I’m thinking I should have a go at it but not sure about the whole process. Yours are beautiful and very creative!!

    1. Hi Smidgen!
      He’s adorable, don’t you think? My fondant is from Wilton, I buy it at an American store nearby. I’ve look up the recipe for making the fondant, but as you, the whole process pulls me back…maybe someday I’ll make my own🙂
      Thanks a lot for your comment!

    1. Great minds…
      I’m sure yours are as beautiful as everything you cook and post.
      Thanks for your comment; I’m glad you like it.
      PS: Hurry up and post yours, I love to try new recipes🙂

  4. These are gorgeous, and while I too prefer icing on my cupcakes, there’s a lot to be said for the beautifully crafted and smooth decorating possibilities that only fondant can provide. These really are beautiful.

OK, let's talk

