Thai curry beef stew

Today’s recipe is from Ferran Adriá’s book “La comida de la familia”. In this occasion the renowned chef uses a pressure cooker to ensure a really tender meat; also this technique saves a lot of time, so it is perfect for meals during the week when we don’t have so much time to spend in the kitchen.

I had some trouble trying to figure out the name in English of the meat that Adriá uses in this recipe (Llata). I’m not sure I have succeeded, but I think the top blade steak will work perfectly. Finally I have to say that I didn’t bother in buying the yellow curry paste, I mean it is a spice that I won’t be using that often and I already have a jar of tahini and another one of cilantro paste in the fridge… So I used a good curry powder instead, same amount. Maybe with the real thing the dish would have been superb, but it was incredible tasty in my version too.

Ingredients

  • 900 g top blade steak
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh ginger
  • 1 bunch fresh cilantro
  • 1 tablespoon yellow curry paste
  • 300 ml of coconut milk
  • 80 ml of olive oil
  • 1.5 L of water
  • Salt
  • Black pepper

Directions

In a pressure cooker add olive oil and sauté the chopped ginger and curry paste. Pour the water.

Add half of the fresh coriander leaves and three-quarters of the coconut milk.

Season the meat with salt and pepper and place it into the pressure cooker. Close and cook for 50 minutes over medium heat.

After this time open the pressure cooker and reduce the juices until you get a consistent and tasty sauce.

Add remaining coconut milk and cilantro leaves. Rectify the salt. Serve.

Enjoy!

35 thoughts on “Thai curry beef stew

  1. That sounds delicious. Top blade steak is a good cut of beef, from the top of the shoulder, which is quite tender. It can be difficult to translate the cuts of meat, since different countries have different cuts – I’ve had that trouble before, when buying meat in Spain. That’s when I ask the butcher for a recommendation for a specific type of dish😉

    1. Hi MD!
      Thank you very much for your comment. I’m glad you understand my predicament with the cuts of meat. Apparently it is important to know these things sometimes …😉
      But you are right, when in doubt ask your butcher

  2. Mmmmm…curry! This is making my mouth water! I love the flavor but don’t do well with the spicy heat. We developed a very mild curry recipe for people like me.

  3. This sounds delicious, Giovanna! I do not own a pressure cooker and I’m astounded every time I see the cooking times in a recipe that uses one. Recipes like the one you’ve just shared will help convince me to purchase one.🙂

  4. Looks fantastic, Giovanna! I have to admit, I’m a little freaked out by pressure cookers. I’ve watched my mother in law use one on several occasions, but I’ve never tried one myself.🙂

    1. Hi April!
      Thanks for your comment🙂
      When I moved here, I was a little freaked out of pressure cookers too, but they are very popular in Spain, so I had to overcome my doubts and now I’m doing quite well with it. I don’t use it very often though… just in case😉

    1. Hi Roger!
      This book’s first edition is from October 2011, so it is quite new. These are the recipes that La familia del Bulli, that is the personnel, ate before the restaurant opened each day. (from six thirty till seven as the book says). Is very good because Adriá gives proportions for 2, 6, 20 or even 75 persons.
      Thanks for your comment🙂

  5. I also do not have a pressure cooker, but will make some estimates on time, prep. Curried beef is great at my favorite lunch truck – I leave it to the pros😉, but I will keep this in mind.

    1. Hi!
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting🙂
      If you find information on the time estimates, please let me know.
      Is curious, just the other day I was reading a post about lunch trucks and why they don’t exist in Spain…
      Have a nice day!

  6. This is a new recipe for me… coconut milk and curry… Curry I can’t use in my cook because of my love… but coconut milk is new for me… I wonder now how it taste… Thank you dear Giovanna, one day I want to try this one. At least just for myself…🙂 Thank you, have a nice day, with my love, nia

  7. I have to confess to not being a fan of Ferran Adriá, especially after seeing a film recently about El Bulli, but this recipe has made me think differently. Maybe I should try to get hold of this book as it seems like a regular, and very tasty recipe. Didn´t manage to eat a curry in London, so I will just have to make myself one and this sounds like one I´d really enjoy…!

    1. Hi Tanya! Puedo ver que te estás poniendo al día en los posts. No dejes que esta receta te haga cambiar de opinión. Yo no tengo una opinión clara sobre Adriá, pero es cierto que estos chefs se lo tienen muy creído. Una vez dicho esto, el libro es francamente bueno y el estofado muy rico😉

OK, let's talk

