Banana, dried apricots and walnut cake

Last Sunday a post at Frugal Feeding inspired me to make today’s recipe.  Mr. F posted an incredible easy and tasty recipe for a Banana and Date bread, here’s the recipe. I didn’t have dates; what I did have: 1 pretty over ripe banana (and one normal looking banana), walnuts and dried apricots, so I made some variations to the original recipe but it’s basically the same at spirit. I hope you enjoy it.

Furthermore, I have to say that this cake/bread was ready in no time. I started at 8 in the afternoon and we had some of it (still warm) before going to bed that same night (and the rest for breakfast the next morning).

I’m going to publish the recipe according to my modifications (just a few).

Ingredients

  • 230g/8oz self-rising flour*
  • 115g/4oz butter
  • 170g/6oz sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 ripe bananas
  • 150g mix of dried apricots and walnuts, roughly chopped

*If you don’t have self-rising flour, you can make your own by combining 1 cup all-purpose flour with 1 ½ tsp. baking powder and ½ tsp. salt (allrecipes.com).

Directions

Pre-heat the oven to 180 ºC and grease a standard size loaf tin or Pyrex. Mash the bananas in a bowl. Separately, cream together the sugar and the butter, then mix in the eggs one by one. Fold the flour and dried apricots and walnuts into the sugar and butter, before combining with the bananas.

Spoon this into the loaf tin and cook for 40 minutes, before turning the over down to 150C and cooking for a further 30 minutes. Turn out and leave to cool before eating.

Thanks FF!

PS.: Take a look at this and this , is like the Twilight zone… Christie at Cookiemomma’s blog wrote on Monday this:  “You are supposed to be able to stand a broom up on its bristles twice a year, during the Spring and Autumn Equinoxes. It has something to do with the alignment of the sun and planets.  Not quite sure of the specifics, but I do think this is pretty cool.  I saw so many pics on Facebook of brooms either standing or laying on the floor and I just couldn’t help but try.  The actual Spring equinox is scheduled for March 20th of this year, so y’all still have time to try.  Let me know how it goes!!!

Now at what time of the year will the broom sweep on its own?  That’s the bigger question”.

I couldn’t resist myself and made the experiment (with a broom and an egg) and it worked!!

29 thoughts on “Banana, dried apricots and walnut cake

  1. Gorgeous! I saw Frugal´s post too. So many good things in this – walnuts which are good for the cholesterol, apricots full of iron and vitamin c and bananas with their potassium (I think!)…wonderful. I will be making this for sure when we get back. Today we are just eating whatever is left in the fridge before we head to London tomorrow😉

  2. Oh Dear Giovanna, dried apricot, banana and walnut, they are amazing all together, I loved your recipe. Apricot, is so nice in cakes… and giving so delicious taste… I wanted now🙂 Tomorrow I want to cook. Thank you dear Giovanna, with my love, nia

  3. This bread looks so moist and delicious – I actually google translated your language version before realizing you were so kind😛

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Tropical Caramelised German Baked Pancake

OK, let's talk

