Quiche

Let’s French things up a little!

My kids and husband have lunch at home every day. That means that I need to have lunch ready before 1 o’clock, so the children can have something good and fast to eat before taking them back to school at two; also there’s have to be enough food for Fernando and my husband, so I don’t have to cook again for them because they (we) have lunch at 3.

For me one of the easiest dishes for these crazy hours (besides pasta, of course) is Quiche. Normally I have one or two Shortcrust or puff pastry dough at hand, so it only takes like 40 minutes or less to have everything ready for the troops. You will only need some salad for a complete and nutritious lunch.

I wanted to call this post quiche Loraine, because that’s how we call it at home, but apparently if you add cheese is no longer Lorraine, but Vosgienne. And as I don’t want to get in trouble with any French reader I’ll just call it Quiche.

This recipe is from a French site called Quiche-Lorraine.com. It has the recipe that better works for me. And today’s I made my quiche in two different ways, first a big one with crème fraîche in the filling, and small mini-quiches, with heavy cream instead of the crème fraîche. I also used pâte sablée (shortcrust pastry) instead of pâte  feuilletée (puff pastry) like they recommend, mainly because shortcrust raises less and you want the filling to be the big protagonist of this recipe, but feel free to use whichever you like or have at hand.

Alors, on y va.

Les ingrédients

  • 1 roll of shortcrust pastry
  • 3 whole eggs
  • 30 cl (300 ml) crème fraîche
  • 25 cl (250 ml) milk
  • 300 grams of smoked bacon or lardons
  • 150 grams grated Emmental cheese
  • Salt, Pepper, Nutmeg

Directions

Preheat the oven to 250 °C (480 ºF).

Place the pastry over a Round Tart/Quiche Pan (or cut roundels with a cookie cutter or a mug – that’s what I used- and place them in a muffin pan, making sure to press a little on the sides and bottom).

Pierce the dough all over with a fork so that it doesn’t rise. The original recipe recommend that you put it now in the oven for 10 minutes until the dough is lightly golden; I did it with the big quiche, but I had to cover it because the edges were burning, so I skip this step with mini quiches and they were perfect, that’s why I recommend to do the same.

Now, the filling. Cook the bacon in a skillet over high heat until lightly toast. Drain excess fat and reserve. In a big bowl, throw the eggs and pour the crème fraîche (or heavy cream). Mix eggs and cream with a whisk. Add the milk gradually while continuing to mix. Add salt and pepper to taste, finally add the nutmeg.

Place the bacon on the dough, pour the filling and sprinkle evenly the Emmental cheese. Bake the quiche for 30 minutes at 250 °C. After 25 minutes, nick the quiche with a knife, if it comes out clean with no traces of cream, your quiche is ready. To give more crisp, you can turn on the grill for five minutes, but be careful not to burn the top of your quiche.

Bon appétit!

36 thoughts on “Quiche

  1. I love these little quiches, what a splendid lunch! and how wonderful that you can feed your children their lunch yourself then you know that they are eating well! Bright brains need bright food! c

    1. Thank you MD!
      It is a very good and easy recipe🙂 The English were right, because at the beginning those where the main ingredients, apparently it wasn’t until later that people started to add cheese…
      Have a nice day🙂

  2. I’m a quiche lover from way back and these look fantastic! Making mini-quiches rather than 1 large pie is a great idea, especially for those of us who live alone. I’d bake them off, freeze the extras, and have quiche whenever I wanted one in the weeks to come. Thanks, Giovanna, for a great recipe and idea!

  3. It’s worth keeping a couple of tart tins, ready lined with pastry, in the freezer – this is a Jamie Oliver tip that really works for me and saves a lot of time, as the frozen case goes straight into the hot oven, NIce post.

    1. Hi Tandy!
      I don’t know why your comment went straight to the spam tray… luckily I like to check once in a while to see if there’s any comment misplaced😉
      Thanks for your comment!

  4. Count me in for lunch next time! I like the idea of using creme fraiche, and the mini ones are too cute! I must get some small pots/oven dishes so I can make a few small quiche, or pies like these. Thanks for the inspiration

    1. Ok, you are in for next lunch at “Casa Giovanna”😉
      Both ways where delicious, but I think I liked better the mini quiches with heavy cream instead of crème fraiche. Remember that I made these in my cupcakes pan, so no need to buy new pots/dishes.
      Thanks for your comment Claire!

  5. I’m not normally a fan of quiche but yours are definitely drool worthy. I’m catching up on your posts and am reading these at night, which is bad because now I’m hungry!🙂

  6. I would be quite happy to have this for lunch! I didn’t know that Lorraine doesn’t have cheese in it. Cheese is what makes quiche so good!

OK, let's talk

