Valentine’s Day Strawberry Shortcake

Maybe is a cliché, but I think strawberries are a very romantic fruit, so I thought (like last year) that a dessert with strawberries was perfect for Valentine’s Day. I made these on Sunday as dessert for my family, so tomorrow I’ll have to come up with another special recipe for my husband; I’ll probably will use one of the many wonderful ideas I’ve been seen lately on WP.

Do you have something special planned for tomorrow?

I started this post with a video of Whitney Houston, because she was one of my favorites artist of all times; Greatest Love of All, I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me), Didn’t We Almost Have It All, I Belong to You or Where Do Broken Hearts Go are just a few of the great songs she performed. But the adaptation she made of Dolly Parton’s I will always love you has a special meaning to me because The Bodyguard and its soundtrack were released the year I met my husband and that was one of “our” songs.
Enjoy the day, have fun and don’t do anything that I wouldn’t do…

Valentine’s Day Strawberry Shortcake

Ingredients
Scones:
2 cups (280 grams) all-purpose flour
¼ cup (50 grams) granulated white sugar
2 teaspoons (10 grams) baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
1/3 cup (76 grams) cold unsalted butter
1 large egg,
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
½ cup (120 ml) cream, half and half, or milk
Filling:
2 pounds (900 grams) fresh strawberries
¼ cup – 1/3 cup (50 – 65 grams) granulated white sugar (or to taste)
Topping:
1 cup (240 ml) cold heavy whipping cream (double cream) (35-40% butterfat)
1 – 2 tablespoons (15-30 grams) granulated white sugar (or to taste)


Directions
Scones: Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C) and place rack in middle of oven. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper.
In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt. Cut the butter into small pieces and blend into the flour mixture with a pastry blender or two knives. The mixture should look like coarse crumbs. Whisk together the egg, cream and vanilla extract and add to the flour mixture, mixing just until the dough comes together. Do not over mix the dough.
Transfer to a lightly floured surface and knead dough gently four or five times and then pat or roll the dough into a 7 inch (18 cm) round. With a 3 inch (7 cm) round cookie cutter, cut out rounds and place the scones on the baking sheet. Brush the tops of the scones with a little cream. Bake for about 15 – 20 minutes or until nicely browned and a toothpick inserted in the center of a scone comes out clean. Transfer to a wire rack.
Filling: Wash, hull, and slice the strawberries. Place about one third of the strawberries in a large bowl and crush them with a potato masher or fork. Add the remaining sliced strawberries, along with the sugar. (The amount of sugar used will depend on how sweet the berries are.) Set aside to macerate at room temperature for about 30 to 60 minutes.
Whipped Cream: Chill the bowl and whisk in the freezer for about 15 – 30 minutes. Place the cream and sugar in the bowl and whip until stiff peaks form. The whipped cream can be covered and stored in the refrigerator for a few hours.
To serve: Cut the scones in half and place the bottom half of the scone (soft side up) on a dessert plate. Top with some of the strawberries and whipped cream. Place the top half of the scone on the strawberries. Top with whipped cream and a few more strawberries. If there is any juice from the strawberries, drizzle a little over the top of the scone. Serve immediately.
Enjoy!

From Joy of baking

23 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day Strawberry Shortcake

  1. Some artists and their talents simply transcend and colour our lives. that track is one of my favourites too. i hope you all have a lovely valentines day.. c

  2. Seeing the words “Strawberry Shortcake” never fails to bring a smile to my face. It was our favorite dessert growing up and we would be as good as gold when we knew Mom “might” make it. And I’ll admit, it isn’t Summer until I’ve had my first shortcake. Happy St. Valentine’s Day, Giovanna!

  3. se ve riquisiimooooo!!! intentare prepararlo un dia de estos primis! muaahh!! Saludos! Happy Valentine´s Day!
    we´ll always love whitney ! RIP….

  4. They´re gorgeous Giovana and we have a crate of Spanish strawberries that we were given this weekend which need to be eaten! I loved Whitney´s music and it reminds me of my 20´s – she was only a year older than me, what a shame.

    1. Muchas gracias Tanya!
      ¿Así es cómo se llama a los fresones, Spanish strawberries? Qué curioso!
      Si, lo de WH es una pena, verdaderamente.
      Muchas gracias por tu comentario, espero que hayas tenido un día de San Valentín muy bonito😉

  5. Strawberry Shortcake has always been one of my favorite desserts as strawberries were my favorite fruit when I was a kid. I don’t like whipped cream anymore so that kind of ruins the cake for me but this does look delicious and reminds me of my childhood. Thank you for that Gi.

    Whitney Houston had some very memorable songs but unfortunately for me they were always played so many times on every radio station that I quickly grew tired of them and began to dislike almost all of them. The two that I still can listen to anytime are Exhale (Shoop Shoop), and I Will Always Love You. At times I can take I’m Every Woman but I still think Chaka Khan’s original is better. Just my two cents…

  6. How sad… “Whitney Houston” my favurite one too! What a great voice she had… But her voice will be forever with us….
    Dear Giovanna, you did great shots with them! They are so beautiful. And they all call me to eat them🙂 Thank you so much for this amazing post… Happy Valetine’s Day! With my love, nia

OK, let's talk

