Roasted lamb with rosemary and sherry

Are you ready for some lamb?

I made some changes to this recipe while cooking, mainly because of lack of some ingredients. The original recipe calls for Marsala wine and sage; I didn’t have those, so I replaced them with Oloroso (from the bottle my friends from Sancti Petri gave to me last summer) and fresh tarragon. I really don’t know if the original recipe was better than mine, but I can assure you that these legs (I couldn’t find one big leg of lamb, so I bought 3 small legs of milk-fed lamb–sorry Mary-) were delicious.

Ingredients

1 leg of lamb 1.8 kg

2 cloves of garlic into thin slices

2 tablespoons rosemary leaves

8 tablespoons olive oil

Salt and pepper

900 g of diced potatoes

6 fresh sage leaves, chopped

150 ml. of Marsala

Directions

With a sharp knife, make incisions on the meat and put in the slices of garlic and half of the rosemary leaves.

Place the leg in a roasting tray and sprinkle with half the oil. Bake in the preheated oven to 220 °C (420 ºF) for 15 minutes. Reduce temperature to 180 °C (350 ºF), remove the leg from the oven and season to taste. Turn it over and roast for 1 hour.

Meanwhile, spread the diced potatoes in another tray and pour over the remaining oil, ensuring they are well greased. Sprinkle with remaining rosemary and sage (or tarragon). Roast potatoes in the oven, along with the lamb for 40 minutes.

Remove lamb from oven, turn it over and pour over the sherry (or Marsala). Put it in the oven again, along with the potatoes, and prolong cooking another 15 minutes.

Put aside the leg on a carving board and wrap it in aluminum foil.

Put the roast tray over high heat and reduce the juices until thick.  Strain, serve the lamb with potatoes and sauce.

Enjoy!

30 thoughts on “Roasted lamb with rosemary and sherry

  1. I have no doubt that the addition of good Oloroso made for an improvement – I’m not sure about the tarragon, but if you and your guests liked it, there’s your answer. I think sherry works so well in cooking, and in fact with ice cream. Try Pedro Ximenes with vanilla ice cream and almonds.

  2. I love the smell of lamb roasting in the oven. Now that WInter’s cold temperatures have returned, this dish would be perfect! Thanks, Giovanna, for sharing a great recipe.

  3. Wonderful – this is pretty much how I would do mine but with rosemary. Like you, we can´t get large legs of lamb, they seem to sell it much younger here but the milk fed lamb is wonderful. I think roast lamb is one of my favourite “roasts”!

OK, let's talk

