Chocolate & Dulce de leche Muffins

I love muffins. I love chocolate and I love dulce de leche.

Today’s recipe combines to perfection all three of them. I made these last weekend to blow out the candles of my son Javier’s 10th birthday. I just have to say that after baking the first batch, I had to make another one for dessert after dinner. They were that good.

You can leave out the rum, but I didn’t.  Please don’t call the authorities… with the heat of the oven all the alcohol evaporates, so no problem there.

Ingredients

60 g of dark chocolate
3 tbsp. unsweetened cocoa powder
1 egg
5 tbsp. milk
60 g of butter
6 tbsp. of flour
5 tbsp. powdered sugar
1 heaping tbsp. of rum
½ sachet of baking powder (8 g)
A pinch of baking soda
A pinch of salt (optional)
 
To decorate:
 
Dulce de leche
Toasted pine nuts
 

 

Directions

Preheat oven to 180 º C (gas mark 6)

Melt the butter and dark chocolate in the microwave or over a water bath.

Allow it cool a bit, and then add the milk and egg. Stir until a fairly homogeneous preparation is obtained.

Mix in a bowl the dry ingredients. Add the chocolate mixture and mix well. Finally, pour the rum into the dough.

Fill the muffin cups until three-quarters. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, depending on the size.

Wait 5 minutes before unmolding, and then allow them to finish cooling on a wire rack. Coat with dulce de leche and sprinkle some toasted pine nuts on top.

Enjoy!

20 thoughts on “Chocolate & Dulce de leche Muffins

  1. I love too dear Giovanna… There is one of my favurite musicians, she sings Portagual Fado songs… This title reminded me her, “Dulce Pontes”… Especially this song, “Cancao do Mar”… And now, another beautiful Dulce🙂 I loved so much your muffins, they seem great and so delcious too. Thank you dear Giovanna, I am drinking a cup of tea now, how would be so nice to have some🙂 Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    1. Thank you John!
      We both took photos. But I think these are Pilar’s (she gets mad if I use mine😉 )
      The thing is that it was late and we had to take the photos in the kitchen with the fluorescent light. Not the best light.
      Anyway, I’m glad you liked them🙂

    1. Thank you Stefanie!
      Yes, I visited your blog and enjoyed such a wonderful recipe for cupcakes. They were so beautiful with that Swiss Meringue buttercream on top…
      Have a nice weekend🙂

OK, let's talk

