Chicken and lentils soup

My dear blogger friend and Secret Santa (shhh!) Tanya, from Chica Andaluza, sent me last Christmas a wonderful book called “One stock, 100 soups”, from Linda Doeser. Today’s recipe is one of those 100’s. It was very tasty and children’s friendly.

After 2 weeks living in the tropic, the cold here in Madrid is unbelievable… And there’s nothing better than a good, old fashioned bowl of soup to warm up. Well, there’re other things, but this is a food blog… I was thinking on a blanket or a pair of wool socks… you guys!!

Chicken and lentils soup

Ingredients

Serve 6

3 tablespoons olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
2 leeks, chopped
2 carrots, chopped
2 stalks celery, chopped
220 g of sliced ​​mushrooms
4 tablespoons dry white wine
1.2 l of basic vegetables broth*
1 bay leaf
2 teaspoons dried spice mixture
150 g lentils (recipe calls for Puy lentils, but I used regular Spanish lentils)
250 g of diced cooked chicken
Salt and pepper
 

Directions

Heat oil in a large pot. Add onion, leek, carrot, celery and mushrooms. Sauté 5 to 7 minutes, stirring occasionally, until softened.

Over medium heat, add wine and let cook for 2 to 3 minutes, until the alcohol has evaporated. Next, pour the vegetables broth. Bring to boil and stir in the bay leaf and spices. Then lower heat, cover the pot and boil for 30 minutes.

Add the lentils, cover again and cook for 40 minutes, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are tender.

Add the chicken, salt and pepper to taste and let cook for another 5 or 10 minutes.

Serve immediately.

Enjoy!

* Basic vegetable broth recipe

 For 1l
 2 tbsp. sunflower oil
 1 onion,
 2 leeks cut into thin slices
 2 stalks celery, finely chopped
 1 large potato diced
 2 carrots cut into thin slices
 2 small parsnips cut into thin slices
 1 small turnip, cut into thin slices
 2 bay leaves
 6 sprigs parsley
 160 ml dry white wine
 1 l of water
 

Directions

Heat oil in a large pot. Add onion, leek, celery and potatoes. Sauté for about 8 minutes, stirring frequently, until vegetables are tender and begin to turn brown.

Add the parsnips, turnips, bay leaf, the parsley and white wine. Then, mix well and sauté for 2 minutes, until the alcohol has evaporated. Over medium heat, add the water and bring the broth to a boil. Then lower heat, cover the pot and let it simmer for 1 hour.

Remove pan from heat and pour the vegetable broth into a container by passing it through a fine sieve. With the back of a spoon, make sure all the vegetables release their juices, but without crushing them in the strainer. Strain it again and let cool completely. Then, cover with plastic film and store in the fridge (maximum 2 days). In the freezer it will keep up to 3 months.

20 thoughts on “Chicken and lentils soup

  1. WOW! I love lentil soup but I haven’t tried with chicken before… Should be so delicious dear Giovanna, Thank you for this beautiful soup. With my love, nia

  2. i am giving this to my husband.. this is exactly the kind of soup he likes to make! and it is cold here to today, snowing, blowing, definitely a soup day! c

  3. I love lentil soup — I’ve some stored in my freezer right now — but I’ve never thought to use chicken in it. This is such a great idea!Believe me, my next pot of lentils will have chicken in it, thanks to you, Giovanna. Nice to have you back. My cooking missed you! 🙂

    1. Hi John!
      This is a very good version of a classic. I didn’t have any leftovers for freezing, but is a great idea, so you don’t have to go through the whole process for a bowl a soup every time you feel like it.

  4. Lovely Giovanna – looks like we´ve both been inspired by our books! I adore lentils but Big Man less so …so I often add things like chicken to the soup to make it more interesting for him. This looks like a good one🙂 Must be amazingly good for you too…

  5. Hey Gi, I know how you feel. I hate the cold. This looks like a great recipe and since I ran out of the chicken soup I made earlier this week, I think I will try this one! Thanks, I love lentils and barley too.

OK, let's talk

