Panama

A 16 days trip to Panama, after 9 years without visiting my family deserves a long beautiful post. I really don’t need to write much because the photographs speak for themselves…

We arrived to Panama the 23rd, after a 10 hours flight, to be welcome by a noisy crew of family and friends.

They had planned everything to the detail, dinner at my godmother’s in Christmas Eve, lunch at my mom’s for Christmas, New Year Eve at my godfather’s, quinceaños for Pilar, etc. Everything perfect, everything delicious.

Skyline

We took a “city tour” to see the new skyline of Panama (amazing). We visited the ruins of Panamá La Vieja (old Panama), city founded on August 15, 1519 by Pedro Arias Dávila,  went to “My Pueblito“, a recreation of some areas of Panama,

mi pueblito
Miraflores locks

visited the Panama Canal and watched two big cargos going through the Miraflores locks. In the afternoon more sightseeing (gorgeous) including a beautiful sunset from Las Bóvedas.

Sunset from Las Bóvedas and Bridge of the Americas

We also visited Isla Grande and Portobelo, which are at the Caribbean coast of the country in Colon.

Portobelo
Arriving to Isla grande

My daughter Pilar celebrated her 15th birthday on December, so we had a big party and a photo shoot, she was gorgeous, and so was Isabel. Pilar was wearing the white pollera, which is the elegant version of our typical dress. Isabel was dressed as a montuna, which is the everyday version of our typical dress.

Polleras
Black sand

On the second we went to Coronado, to a beach house at the pacific coast; again big party by the swimming pool and the beach. On our way there we made a stop at an amazing place called Chicá, with incredible views.

Chame peninsula from Chicá

Now we are at the 4th, we kept eating, visiting and shopping (they have built so many malls in these 9 years…) and having fun until the very last minute, actually we had dinner at a beautiful restaurant called Le Méridien (Fancy…French in honor of my mother in law) and a big farewell party at my cousin’s with a Secret Santa and karaoke included on the 5th.

We left the 6th in the afternoon, but before that my godmother prepared an incredible Sancocho, which is a Panamanian chicken soup that you won’t believe. I will try to make it here one of these days, but I have to find all the ingredients first.

Now we are back home, with a new year ahead of us. I wish you all a very happy new year, may all your dreams come true and your new year resolutions be achieve.

God Bless you all,

Giovanna

33 thoughts on “Panama

  1. I remember when I was a student in early years our teacher was talking about Panama in geography lesson… At that time I was so impressed and I always tried to image, especially this canal….Once again Panama impresses me… This is a great post dear Giovanna, one of your best… Happy Birthday and Happy New Year to you all once again. What a beautiful wearing… I loved their clothes… You captured so beautiful photographs, fascinated me Panama’s landscapes… I am so glad to hear that you had a nice holiday with your family, I can guess how missed everybody to each other… Thank you for sharing with us, Blessing and Happiness dear Giovanna with your family. With my love, nia

    1. Thanks Nia!
      I really liked your comment, you are very kind. Yes, the Panama Canal is awesome, in fact everything was incredible, so voluptuous and generous. I loved being there again and I am happy to share it with you.
      Love,
      Giovanna

  2. Hola Guapa – me he emocionada leyendo esto. Nueve años sin ir a Panama – cuantos cambios has visto. What a family of very beautiful women you all are – your daughters are incredible. I love the photos – my desire to visit your beautiful country increases every time I read your posts. I am so pleased for you that you had such a fantastic trip, and now you have the memories and the photos. Feliz y prospero año nuevo para ti y los tuyos. Un abrazo,

    1. ¡Gracias Tanya!
      Yes, the trip was great, especially after such a long time. Everything has changed, some for better and some for bad. But it was really great seeing my family and meeting the new “aditions”.
      Muchas gracias por tu comentario y deseos.
      Un abrazo,
      G

  3. Welcome home, Giovanna, and Happy New Year! Hard to believe that Pilar is but 15 years old and yet takes such beautiful pictures for your blog! Thank you for sharing your vacation pictures and glad you’re back, safe & sound.

    1. Thank you John!
      Yes, Pilar is a very talented girl (like mother like daughter😉 ). It’s good to be back at home and be able to write and cook freely, even though I miss them already.
      Have a very nice day.

  4. Happy new year! It looks like you had a fabulous time, and you got some amazing photos. It’s always nice to go home after being away for so long, even with all the changes. And happy birthday to your daughter!

    1. Thanks Mandy!
      I’ve never been to Mauritius, but I looked it up and yes, there are some similarities, even though Mauritius looks much more ” playero”.
      Thanks for stopping by!

  5. Your beautiful photos brought back memories! I sailed through the Panama Canal on a Destroyer when I was in the U.S. Navy in 1972. During most of the transit between the Atlantic and the Pacific we traveled on the placid waters of Gatun Lake.

    1. Hello J.A.
      I’m glad that you like my post about our trip to Panama. Is incredible that you’ve been there even before I was born! Thanks for sharing your memories on my country. It is really nice to meet you.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting🙂
      P.S.: I loved your blog. Short, smart and funny posts, just perfect!

  6. Wow! Who would not have a great time! Family is great and the scenery looks amazing. I think I want to visit Panama now! Tell Pilar I said happy belated birthday! The black sand beach looks amazing. Hope all is well with you!

OK, let's talk

