Lil’ coconuts and truffles

“Through the years we all will be together, if the Fates allow hang a shining star upon the highest bough. And have yourself a merry little Christmas now”

As a farewell post until next year, I bring you two different recipes perfect for the Holidays. With these little bites you can wait until the ball drops and the New Year arrives. I wish you all Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.

Lil’ coconuts

Ingredients

1 egg
100 g sugar
100 g shredded coconut
 

Directions

Put the coconut in a bowl, add sugar and stir well. Make a small hole in the moddle and add the egg. Mix well until all ingredients are blended. Cover and allow to rest for one to two hours. With the help of a spoon or by hand, make small balls and place them on a baking tray covered with baking paper. Place in the preheated oven at 200 ° C (392 ºF) for 5 to 7 minutes.

Truffles

Ingredients

250 g chocolate chopped
2 tablespoons water
50 g butter
25 g sugar
200 ml cream
Cocoa powder
 

Directions

In a saucepan over low heat melt the chocolate with water. When thoroughly melted, add the butter and mix. Then pour the cream and sugar. Stir with the help of a wooden spoon until you get a smooth cream. Reserve at room temperature for 10 minutes then put in the fridge for an hour or until the chocolate has hardened. After this time put the cocoa powder in a bowl, remove the chocolate from the refrigerator, make truffle balls and coat with cocoa powder.

See you next year!

27 thoughts on “Lil’ coconuts and truffles

  1. Ah, you are nearly ready for your trip! Me encanta las recetas y esta semana estoy planeando hacer dulces para nosotros y para regalar. Nunca he tenido muy buena suerte con las trufas, entonces tengo gana de probar tú receta. Big Man me ha pedido tambien un flan…y voy a hacerlo “a la Giovanna”! Me gusta mucho el Belén – muy bonito. Pues, Felices Fiestas a ti y todo la familia, buen viaje, y hasta 2012! Un abrazo, Tanya

    1. Yes, “almost” is the key word here😉
      Yo tampoco había tenido demasiada suerte antes, pero estas resultaron bastante buenas. ¡Qué alegría por el flan! Espero que os guste.
      Que tengais una muy feliz navidad. Pasadlo muy bien🙂
      Giovanna

  2. Wonderful bite-sized holiday treats! Mom used to make something similar to your Truffles and I loved them. Safe travels, Giovanna, and have a wonderful visit back home!

    1. Thanks Phyllis!
      Merry Christmas to you too. I wish you have a wonderful time with your family.
      See you in 2012😉
      Although, I may take a look and comment during the holidays… this blogging thing is addicting😉

  3. Dear Giovanna, they are so beautiful and seem so delicious too… I loved them but I also loved your photograph and your decoration… You are amazing, Thank you, with my love, nia (ah, Thank you for the song too, suddenly my room get shine now🙂 I dance at my desk…🙂 )

    1. Thank you very much Lisa. Sorry it took me so long to reply, I’ve been spending Christmas in Panama. Yes, in the photo is our Advent wreath, I’m glad you liked it.
      Happy new year!

  4. I am so glad to hear you again dear Giovanna, I really missed you🙂 I hope you had a nice holiday, Thank you, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

OK, let's talk

