Spanish-style fried rice

Last week I had dinner with some friends in a great Asian restaurant. The food was tasty and the service, very nice indeed. But best of all, this restaurant has a buffet. Ah, the paradise of women on a diet! Yes, because once you go out with your friends you’re not going to count calories or carbohydrates…

One of the most typical dishes of Asian cuisine is rice, and its most famous version is fried rice. Today’s recipe is a variation of this classic with a certain Spanish twist. Adding chorizo ​​makes everything tastier and this dish is no exception.

Ingredients

300 g basmati rice
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 small chorizos sliced
1 onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
½ teaspoon of turmeric
200 g of frozen cooked prawns (shrimp)
100 g of frozen peas
150 ml of boiling water

Directions

Wash rice until water runs clear, put it in a pot and cover with cold water (a finger) and bring it to a boil. Season, cover and cook over low heat for 10 minutes, until the rice absorbs the liquid. Remove from the heat and let stand another 10 minutes. Finally separate the grains with a fork.

Heat the oil in a skillet, sauté the chorizos, onion and garlic. Cook for a couple of minutes until tender. Now add the turmeric, rice, shrimp, peas and boiling water. Cook until the water had evaporated. Serve with lemon wedges.

Enjoy!

24 thoughts on “Spanish-style fried rice

  1. Do you mean a finger more water? cover and then a finger? I make terrible rice here,, in every other country in the world I have made great rice, but I came to america and I cannot make rice anymore.. HELP! c

    1. Hello C! Do you really want me to explain this IN ENGLISH?🙂
      I meant cover the rice with water, then add more water up to one finger height
      Water ———
      Rice __________
      Maybe is the water… To make regular white rice in Europe and America (Panama) this is what I do: Heat some oil (1 tbsp.) then add a handful of rice in it and sauté a bit until light brown. Then add the rest of the rice, stir a little, so all the grains are cover with oil, then pour the water (Everyone has his own measurements here, I add same amount of water and rice 1-1. But don’t forget the first handful) Add salt and when it starts to boil low the heat and cover for 12 to 15 minutes. And that’s it. I hope I’ve been of some help🙂
      G

  2. Still chuckling at “the paradise of women on a diet”…pile those plates high in a buffet restaurant. My brother always made me laugh with his advice about salad bars…”don´t put the tomatoes on your plate Tanya, they take up too much room…put them in your pocket”. Firstly I hope he was joking and secondly, it could be messy with sliced tomatoes🙂 Anyway, I digress…I adore fried rice and you´re right, chorizo makes (almost) everything taste better! Like you I also often use turmeric in place of the expensive saffron. ¡Muy rico!

    1. Hi Tanya! And thank you very much for my secret Santa present, I really loved it! And see? You send me rice paper, now I can cook something Asian…
      I have the theory that if you go out, you have to go out and enjoy the moment…Your brother is so right, but you know what? I would put the tomatoes on my plate… if they are in tempura🙂
      Me alegro mucho de que te haya gustado la receta. Que tengas un buen día.

  3. I’m a huge fan of chorizo! The rice looks great and I would love to prepare this for my family. Oh, and even though I love chorizo, I don’t eat meat anymore so I can’t have it but I can cook it for anyone else. I have assimilated this recipe into my files. Thanks Gi.

    1. Thanks Tom!
      I’m glad you like it. So, a vegan, eh? That’s unexpected… But don’t worry, you can add veggies instead of chorizo and prawns (eggplant, zucchini, carrots, peppers…)
      Have a very good day🙂

OK, let's talk

