Isabel’s Birthday

Last Saturday was my daughter Isabel 12 birthday. She’s the one who opens the birthday season at home. Her, I, Pilar and Javier celebrate our birthdays on December and January in that order. So these months are filled with parties, family and friends.

This weekend Isabel wanted to celebrate her birthday with the family, so we invited over uncles, aunts, cousins and grandparents to join the festivities. This is the cake I made; adapting a recipe from Rachael Ray’s mag.

Besides the cake I made some sandwiches and this sausage rolls.

On Monday, she had a merienda with some school friends and for them I made chocolate muffins and white chocolate and macadamia nuts cookies. They had a really great time and Isabel was oh so so happy…

As you can see I’ve been busy in the kitchen; not so much on the computer though.

At school we are preparing a surprise theater for the kids (parents are the actors) and at the same time I’m trying to get everything ready for our trip to Panama for the holydays. So I haven’t had the time to seat down and write anything… Until today.

If you go to R.R. website, you will see that the recipe for this cake is quite simple, so there’s not so much for me to add, other than that Isabel wanted candies on her cake and that she’s not too keen on cotton candy, so I didn’t add it, but instead I went CRAZY with the candies.

For the sausages rolls, I used refrigerated puff pastry; bought some good quality sausages, roll them, cut, brush  an egg wash and sprinkled some sesame seeds. Put them in the oven for 15 minutes at 350 ºF (180 ºC) et voilà!

Now, the muffins.

Ingredients

3 ½  tablespoons margarine at room temperature
115 g brown sugar
2 large eggs
115 g flour
½  teaspoon baking soda
25 g cocoa powder
125 g sour cream
 

Frosting

125 g dark chocolate
2 TBSP icing sugar
150 ml sour cream
White chocolate shavings (optional)
 

Directions

Prepare a multi muffin pan with paper cups. Preheat oven to 350 ºF (180 ºC).

In the bowl of your electric mixer, cream together margarine, sugar, eggs, flour, baking soda and cocoa. Add the sour cream and mix well.

Pour the mixture into the paper cups and bake for 20 minutes or until the muffins had risen and are firm. Let them cool over a wire rack.

For the frosting, melt the chocolate over a Bain Marie, let it warm a bit and then add sugar and sour cream. Beat until well combined. Spread the chocolate coating over the muffins and the white chocolate shavings. Refrigerate before serving.

Finally. I didn’t take photos of the cookies because, although they were delicious, they did not look that good… So I’ll leave that recipe for another day. But I’ll tell you I took it from “Taste of Home’s Best-Ever Christmas cookies & Candies”.

Enjoy!

20 thoughts on “Isabel’s Birthday

  1. Happy birthday to Isabel and many, many more! Loks like you’re going to be pretty busy the next 2 months with just the birthdays, let alone the holidays. Well, at least you won’t get bored. That cake looks great and your roll-ups make a nice appetizer. It all spells a fun time, to me.

    1. Thanks John!
      Yes I have a full plate, but at the end I will relax and enjoy the Holidays with the family and that’s what matters to me. Isabel was thrilled when I told her that my bloggers friends had send her happy birthday… She´s so cute!
      Have a very nice day.

    1. Thanks Phyllis!
      I told Isabel. She was very pleased with all the attention😉
      How many of you celebrate your BD on April? It looks like we parents arrange things to have our kids on the same month…
      Have a very nice day!

  2. ¡Cumpleaños Feliz Isabel! Sounds like a fantastic Birthday party – for Isabel and for the rest of the family. That cake is beautiful, it reminds me of the cakes my grandmother used to make for me, my brother and most of the other children in my barrio when I was younger! I adore sausage rolls and haven´t made them for ages. Time to get baking🙂 And how wonderful that you are off to Panama – when do you leave?!

    1. Muchas gracias Tanya!
      Lo pasamos muy bien la verdad. Isabel está muy contenta con sus felicitaciones cibernéticas🙂
      El pastel estaba bien, con sus defectillos, pero muy rico. Así se nota que era 100% homemade.
      El viaje a Panamá está previsto para el 23 de diciembre y hasta el 7 de enero. Tenemos muchas ganas de que llegue la fecha, aunque a mí todavía me quedan algunas cosas por preparar.
      Espero que tengas un día muy bonito. Hasta pronto.

  3. WOW! Happy Birthday to Isabella, I wish all the best for her. What a beautiful birthday recipes… You are so beautiful dear Giovanna, they all seem so delicious… This should be a great party. Thank you dear Giovanna, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

  4. prima se ve espectacular ese dulce y todo lo demas tambien se ve muy yummy!! jejej espero que algun dia pueda provar algo de esas delicias que preparas! me alegro que isabel lo haya pasado de lo mejor!! un abrazote

OK, let's talk

