Mashed sweet potatoes, pumpkin and roasted garlic

Thanksgiving is only two days away, so here is my suggestion for a side dish. We don’t celebrate thanksgiving, but to those of you who do celebrate this holiday; I wish you all a very happy thanksgiving!

Ingredients

 1 kg butternut squash, peeled and chopped
 1 kg of sweet potatoes peeled and chopped
 1 head of garlic
 1 red chili
 3 tablespoons olive oil
 Salt to taste
 

Directions

Preheat oven to 180 º C (350 º F). Place the chopped sweet potato and squash in a baking dish. Cut the garlic head in half. Place it with the whole chili in the dish. Drizzle with olive oil and roast for 45 minutes.

When the pumpkin and sweet potatoes are tender and golden, cut the chili in half, remove seeds and chop. Remove the cloves from the garlic head and mash or triturate everything together. Season and pour a little oil before serving.

Enjoy!

Before I go, I will like to give thanks for this blog and for the people who read it and follow it. Especially for the new friends I’ve made.

 

26 thoughts on “Mashed sweet potatoes, pumpkin and roasted garlic

  1. This looks great. I have to be honest with you… I have never thought to pair garlic and sweet potatoes together. As much as I love sweet potatoes. Where was my mind? Thank you for this recipe. We are traveling to visit my parents this Thanksgiving and you can be sure I am preparing this dish. Thank you so very much. Also… I hope to see you at Flavor Internationale!

    1. Hi Tom!
      Yes, me neither, actually this was the first time I cook sweet potatoes. But it was really good. I hope you enjoy the festivities with the family. Don’t forget to let me know how it went with this recipe if you make it🙂
      Happy thanksgiving.
      PS.: Yes, you’ll see me at FI

  2. What a great combination of flavors, Giovanna, and I’m sure this dish would be a great complement to many main course dishes. I, too, am grateful for the wonderful people I’ve met via the blogs. This was a complete and wonderful surprise!

    1. Hi John!I’m happy you liked it. I read you are having dinner at a restaurant with friends, is a great idea, because normally the cooks dont have time to enjoy dinner; so this is your chance to seat and relax.Have fun on the holidays!

  3. I love your combination of sweet potatoes and butternut squash – and with garlic! Of course, anything with garlic is bound to be good! It has been such a great adventure having a food blog and meeting so many nice people around the world! How much I have learned!

  4. Love sweet potatoes – in fact I bought a huge one this morning. I don´t have any squash though, so maybe I´ll try this with with a mix of patata, batata (as they call boniato here) and garlic. Thanks for the inspiration! Un abrazo guapa.

  5. i love mash of any kind and made something very similar just the other day, i was a bit worried about the garlic until we ate it and you are right it is lovely together. we do not have Thanksgiving in NZ either but When in Rome.. etc.. c

OK, let's talk

