Puff Pastry Cinnamon Rolls

Have you ever feel like a Jamie Olivier because you thought you’ve created something original?

And how did you feel when discovered that your geniality wasn’t at all original and new?

Well, that’s exactly what happened to me a few days ago. I love cinnamon rolls, so I decided to make some of them, but instead of using the recipe for the yeast dough, I used some puff pastry dough I had in the fridge. I really thought it was an original idea because normally the cinnamon rolls are fluffy and soft, and mine were crisp and “crumbling”.

But just to be sure I started writing the term in Google and there it was: The puff pastry cinnamon rolls are nothing new, in fact there are like hundreds of incredibly tasty recipes on the net…

Anyway, today I leave you with the recipe that I have followed, even though not as original as I first thought, they are good … and they’re really easy to make.

To this basic recipe you can add raisins or nuts and a glaze if you like.
Ingredients for six good-sized rolls

1 package puff pastry (250 g approx.)
50 g of brown sugar
2 tablespoons sugar
1 tablespoon melted butter
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

 Directions
Preheat oven to 200 º C (390 º F). Spread the puff pastry on a flat surface. Grease and flour a multi muffin pan.

Mix filling ingredients and spread over the dough. Roll it like a Swiss roll and, with a sharp knife, cut 6 slices of the same thickness and place them in the pan for muffins.

Place the tray at medium- high height and bake for 20 minutes Allow to cool for 5 minutes in the tray and then let them cool completely on a rack.

I hope you like them!

22 thoughts on “Puff Pastry Cinnamon Rolls

  1. These look delicious and I just love the smell of cinnamon rolls baking in the oven. The whole kitchen smells so great. I have a sheet of puff pastry in my freezer and now, thanks to you, I’ll be making these this weekend. Yum!

    1. Thanks John!
      Yes the smell is amazing. The rolls are gone (of course) and today I washed the box where I put them and when I opened it bang! There was THE smell, is so good, I have to buy more puff pastry…
      I hope you enjoy yours as much as we did🙂

    1. Hola Tanya!
      I don’t know why, but your comment went to the unapproved comment list… how weird is that?!
      I can’t believe you’ve never made cinnamon rolls. Well, the puff pastry was from Mercadona and I’m sure you have one nearby, so go ahead and try one, they are very good, trust me. Big man is going to love them and you too!
      Gracias por venir a verme y comentar🙂

  2. These look delicious! Perfect with a hot cup of coffee or tea. I haven’t tried my hand at making gluten-free puff pastry or phyllo dough yet… Might have to wait for that until after Christmas!

    1. Hi April!
      Thanks for commenting. Yes these are perfect for a tea or coffee party with friends. Is better to be accompanied, otherwise you’ll eat them all by yourself… The more the merrier… cinnamon rolls, I meant😉
      Have a nice day!

  3. I’ve been wanting to make some pumpkin cinnamon rolls for weeks now, but I think my family has had enough of pumpkin : )

    I think I’ll make this instead. Thanks for the brilliant idea!

OK, let's talk

