All Saints’ Day. Buñuelos de viento

All Saints’ Day.  Also called All Hallows or Hallowmas

Buñuelos de viento

It is customary in Spain to make this little treats for the festivity of all Saints. My good friend Mª Angeles agreed to lend me her recipe and that’s what I bring you today.
I hope you like them.
The buñuelos can be filled with custard, chocolate, whipped cream, and so on. Mine are filled with Nutella, my kids love it.


Ingredients

250 ml water
50 g. butter
3 eggs
A pinch of salt
Same amount of flour than water
½ sachet baking powder (8 g. Royal’s Baking powder)

Directions

Heat the water in a saucepan with butter and salt. Bring mixture to boil and remove from heat. Add flour all at the same time and mix well with a spatula until smooth. Let it cool a bit and add the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each addition. Finally add half packet of baking powder.
Put plenty of oil in a pan over medium heat, and fry the dough into balls the size of a walnut (formed with the help of two teaspoons) When they swell up rise the oil temperature to brown.
Let them to drain and when they are cool, make a small hole and fill with whatever you like.
Enjoy!

18 thoughts on “All Saints’ Day. Buñuelos de viento

  1. So beautiful. This is something reminded my Grandmother, there was something like this one, she was doing… Exactly I added to my recipes file, dear Giovanna, Thank you so much, and I am sure my son will love it, especially with nutella! Yummmyyyy! With my love, nia

    1. Dear Nia,
      It is very probable that your Grandmother’s recipe and this one have a lot in common. This is a small world after all and we all get influenced by each other. That is especially good when is food related. If you remember her recipe, please let me know. I hope your son like it.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting😉
      With love, Giovanna

    1. Dear John, thanks for stopping by and commenting. Yes, buñuelos are very versatile, actually, as you can see they aren’t sweet per se, so you probably can fill them with cheese or anchovies and they will be equally good.
      Have a nice evening🙂

    1. Thanks for asking Celi, I just fixed it in the post. I used Royal baking powder, and each sachet has 16 grams, so it would be about 8 grams of baking powder.
      Sounds like a great idea filling them with honey, please let me know how it went.
      Have a nice day!

  2. Hi Giovanna, The All-Saints Day treats sound so good. I wish we had that tradition here and that a friend would stop by with those tasty morsels.

OK, let's talk

