Peanut butter muffins

Kids love PB, and they love muffins. So peanut butter muffins are a winning bet. The frosting on these muffins is made of cream cheese, but I decided to cover most of them with peanut butter, and my children liked those better. Another great idea could be to cover the muffins with jelly; and you will end with a PB&J muffin… Probably the must popular lunch in the US (don’t tell Jamie Olivier).

Ingredients

16 units

 4 tbsp. butter or margarine, softened
 225 g brown sugar
 115 g. of crunchy peanut butter
 2 eggs, lightly beaten
 1 tsp. vanilla extract
 225 g of flour
 2 tsp. baking powder
 100 ml. milk

Frosting

 200 g. soft cream cheese
 2 tbsp. softened butter
 225 g. icing sugar

Directions

Line a multiple muffin pan with 16 paper cups. Preheat oven to 180 º C.

Put in a bowl the butter, sugar and peanut butter, and stir for 1 to 2 minutes until well blended. Gradually add eggs, beating well after each addition. Then add the vanilla essence.

In another bowl sift the flour and baking powder, with a large metal spoon; incorporate to the butter mixture alternating with spoonfuls of milk.  Mix well.

Divide the batter among the molds. Bake the muffins 25 minutes or until risen and golden brown. Let cool on wire rack.

To make the frosting, place the cream cheese and butter in a large bowl, whisk until smooth. Add the sifted powdered sugar and mix well.

When the muffins are cool, spread the frosting.

If you prefer the peanut butter frosting, to make it easy to spread, heat the peanut butter in the microwave for 10 seconds before applying it to the muffins.

Enjoy!

25 thoughts on “Peanut butter muffins

  1. Your muffins look so much better than mine. Mind you I was trying to make pancakes with the muffin mix, but that’s a whole story in itself.

    -Eliabeth

      1. Happy early Halloween! That’s this weekend isn’t it? Or Monday? Anyway, the problem is the pancakes were more the consistency of crepes so then I poured too much batter in and then it turned into “can I bake a cake on the stove? Let’s try it!” http://wp.me/p1HrCI-ib I called it “Ode to Bill Cosby – Chocolate Cake for Breakfast”
        😉 Eliabeth

      2. I wish we could edit our own comments, but I get why we can’t. I just realized you’ve been to our blog and seen the story❤ glad you liked it.

  2. I have recently developed a passion for peanut butter (despite not really liking peanuts much!). Odd, I know. How about a frosting mixing cream cheese with peanut butter?! Either way. will have to give these a go as they look muy ricos!

    1. Hola Chica, muchas gracias por tu comentario.
      I thought about mixing cheese and peanut butter, but didn’t want to risk it with the kids, but it is a good idea. If you do it that way please let me know for the next batch.

    1. Well, of course my friend!!
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting. Are you sure you don’t have anymore versiosn of your Grandma’s oatmeal cookies? Maybe with peanut butter?😉
      Have a nice weekend!

    1. Hi Celi! I bet they would too!

      Thanks for stopping by. You know what? I was rethinking my last comment about the combine harvester and it sounded like a threat. That’s what happens when one don’t master a language… With all the “in, on, onto, above…” Luckily you understood what I meant.😉
      Enjoy your weekend!

OK, let's talk

