Let them eat cake … Lemon cake

One afternoon a couple of weeks ago I was baking something for the blog when one of my daughters asked me to take her to the mall to buy a new cell phone. I said ok, let’s go.  When we came home it was a little late, so I put on my apron and started preparing dinner. Later that night I took the dogs for a walk, but before leaving I took off the TWO aprons I was wearing!

That made me wonder; if I’m wearing two aprons now, was I wearing one when I went to the mall before? I guess I’ll never know…
Lately my memory is not what it used to be… That’s why I wasn’t surprise when noticed the recipe and photos of this amazing lemon cake waiting in a file to be published.

Ingredients

3 eggs
250 g. sugar
160 g. butter
160 g. flour
2 tablespoons powdered sugar
10 g. baking powder
Juice of 1 lemon
1 lemon
 

Directions


Preheat oven to 170 ° C (338 ºF).

In a saucepan over medium heat, boil 1 whole lemon in plenty of water until soft. After this time, let it cool and triturate until a fine puree. Reserve.

In a saucepan over low heat boil 90 g. of sugar with the lemon juice. When the sugar has dissolved, add the powdered sugar. Reserve.

Beat the melted butter and mix with the remaining sugar until you obtain a spongy cream. Add the egg yolks and lemon puree. Beat the egg whites until stiff and add them to the yolks mixture, also add the sifted flour and baking powder, mix well.

Pour the dough into a previously greased rectangular pan, put it in the oven and bake for 45 minutes. After this time, cover with lemon glaze, let it rest for twenty minutes and unmold.
Enjoy!

 

Adapted from the book “Heavenly delights

36 thoughts on “Let them eat cake … Lemon cake

  1. Glad to know I’m not the only absent-minded one around here, haha! That really made me smile. The cake looks delicious. I’m a big fan of lemon drizzle cake too🙂

  2. your daughter would have told you if you were wearing your pinny in the mall!! I love it that you are that crazy. You probably just put two on. And this lemon cake looks LOVELY! c

  3. Hehe, if you wore the apron to the mall you probably just looked like a very dedicated cook🙂 Delicious looking lemon cake! Love that you use a whole lemon in it!!

  4. I wished to see you in the mall, I am sure it would be a new fashion, because you are such a beautiful lady, whatever you wear should be a fashion. I imagine like that. You can’t believe but I can smell this beautiful lemon cake! Oh dear Giovanna I wanted to cook now, but it would be noise in the late night. Tomorrow my first work will be to cook a lemon cake… Seems so delicious. Thank you, Have a nice day, with my love, nia

    1. Dear Nia, what a lovely comment, you are so sweet.
      I don’t know about the fashion thing, but if I start seen people wearing aprons in the street I will ask money for the copy right😉
      Let me know how it went with your lemon cake.
      Sweet dreams my friend!

      1. Thank you dear Giovanna. I made it today. The result: the taste was so delicious but the view of my cake wasn’t good. But next time will be better. I posted on my blog. Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

  5. I love lemon cakes…so simple and yet so delicious.

    And don’t feel bad about going out in public wearing an apron. I do it all the time when picking up my wife from the university (though I never get out of the car)😉

  6. Soo funny! I could completely understand the apron! I’ve sat down to Holiday dinner still in apron mode, then jumping up to quickly slip it off! This lemon cake is awesome with the glaze seeping in, I love anything lemon.

  7. my mouth is open now and wishing for a piece of this gorgeous lemon cake!!!!! it’s sooo mouth-watering, oh dear!!! I’ve never made one, but I will certainly try!!!!:)

  8. So funny – I think we´ve probably all done something “fashionably” similar too! What a lovely recipe. I often make a Lemon drizzle cake but use olive oil, this version sounds so rich and delicious!

  9. So, Jen is not much of a cook. Do you put the whole lemon in water and boil until softened or do you cut it up? I guess you can tell this one caught her eye. She LOVES lemon cake.

    1. Dear Rumpy, Thanks for stopping by.
      Tell Jen that she has to boil the whole lemon, without cutting it. Then triturate when it is soft. I don’t even remove the seeds.
      I hope this helps.🙂

OK, let's talk

