Lima’s Sigh – Suspiro de Limeña

Oh majestic Condor of the Andes,
 Take me to my home in the Andes
Oh Condor.
I want to return to my beloved land and live
with my brothers Incas, which is what I miss most?
oh Condor.
In Cusco, in the main square
wait for me
to go to Machu Picchu and Huayna Picchu
for a walk.
 

Extract from the zarzuela “El Condor Pasa”

In 1524 in Panama, Francisco Pizarro, which became its mayor in 1522, associated with others to conquer “The Biru” (a word that later became Peru).

In late September 1526, after two years of a difficult expedition, facing all kinds of dangers and calamities, he and his men arrived to the island of Gallo, where took place the epic speech of Pizarro; with his sword he draw a line in the sands of the island urging his men to decide whether to continue or not in the expedition. Only thirteen men crossed the line. The “Thirteen of Fame” or “Thirteen of the island of Gallo.”

 “On this side is Panama, where you can go back to be poor, on that side is Peru, where you can be rich, choose well as a good Castilian what´s best for you.”

The conquest of Peru was long and difficult, even with the support of the huancas, ethnicity submitted and enemy of the Incas.

Inca’s name, as known to this aboriginal group, refers to the upper caste, which exercised a despotic government, without consulting the subjects. So there was no resistance from the general population to European domination, once the Inca hierarchy was killed or subdued.

In January 1533, the Spanish arrived to Cuzco. But the new colony established its capital in Lima, founded on January 18, 1535, the City of Kings.

In 1544, the Viceroyalty of Peru was created. Which comprised part of the Republics of Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay, Bolivia, Colombia, Chile, Ecuador, Panama and Peru.

This is the last post of the Hispanic Heritage Week. And what better way to finish it than with a good dessert?

Lima’s Sigh – Suspiro de Limeña

The first account of this recipe is found in the New Dictionary of American Kitchen from 1868, under the name of Real Delicacy of Peru. The history of its creation begins with the wife of the poet José Galvez Barrenechea called Ayarez Amparo, who devised the recipe. The poet christened the dessert, because its softness and sweetness, as the sigh of a woman, therefore, Lima’s sigh.

Ingredients

1 large can evaporated milk
1 large can condensed milk
4 egg yolks
4 egg whites
½ cup port wine
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
 

Directions

Pour the milks in a saucepan, and cook, stirring constantly, until it gets density and change color to light brown (30 to 40 minutes). Remove from heat.

In a medium bowl, beat the yolks and mix with ¼ cup of the milk mixture, stirring well, then put all together and bring to a boil again for one minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat, add vanilla and mix.

Now pour the blancmange into 6 glasses or cups and put them into the fridge to cool.

In a saucepan pour together port wine and sugar and bring them to boil until it forms a syrup a bit thick.

Put egg whites in a blender and beat until stiff, then add the syrup in a thin trickle and continue beating until you have a firm meringue.

Removed the cups from the fridge and decorate with the help of a pastry bag with a tuft of meringue. Finally sprinkle with cinnamon and serve.

Enjoy!

21 thoughts on “Lima’s Sigh – Suspiro de Limeña

  1. Wow, that looks amazing and that recipe sounds so sweet.. very interesting recipe, and so old, what would they have used in the 1800’s before they had condensed and evaporated milk do you know?..or did they already have something like that. c

    1. Hello C! Very interesting question. I’ve been thinking about it and probably Amparo simply mixed whole milk with sugar and reduced over low heat until it turn into blancmange. But condensed milk did exist on that time according to Wikipedia and other sources.😉
      Have a nice day!

  2. i really like your food pictures and want to invite you to try out tastingspot.com. it’s for anyone that just wants another place to submit photos and share it will other foodies. It’s still in beta version, but would love for you to start adding some photos and help get it going.

  3. Hmmmm…. I like the dessert but a comment about the upper caste caught my eye. I guess with the Occupy Wall Street protests it reminds me that we’re still suffering from the insanity of class differentiation after all these years.

  4. Fabulous trip back in time, and such a sweet ending…Oh, and No, you’re not an outsider… As you mentioned on my site, but, yes the ‘White Noise” post was sort of a joke, as some of my blogging buddies were ribbing on me for leaving the letter “N’ out of the word “Open” in my last poem though…It was purposely left out.. as “Ope” is a poetic anachronism, and has been used for centuries.. So, I just thought I would see if they noticed… the Post Was missing… just making sure everyone is reading before commenting.. LOL, just kidding..thanks for stopping by, and I love your site.
    God Bless You
    paul

  5. I think you are trying to kill me. It is almost midnight but I am craving this so bad I don’t know how I am going to be able to wait to make it!!

  6. Ohhhhh, my, this is beautiful. How do I say it–‘Que Lindo’?
    I love the poems/songs, the fascinating history, and especially this exquisite looking dessert. I will *definitely* try making it!

    Thank you!

    1. Thanks Kathryningrid! I’m happy you liked the recipe and the songs. Last week was really fun and interesting for me with all those new recipes and writing about our history.
      I hope you enjoy these at home. Have a nice day🙂

OK, let's talk

