Beautiful and beloved Mexico

 
   The voice of my guitar,
Waking up in the morning
Wants to sing its joy
To my Mexican land
 
 I sing to its volcanoes
Its meadows and flowers
They are like talismans
From the love of my love
 
 Beautiful and beloved Mexico
If I die far away from you
Say that I’m asleep
And bring me here…
 
Jorge Negrete
 

As I only have two days to complete the cycle of the discovery of America, I decided to go directly to the two great empires existing during the American conquest, the Aztec and the Inca.
Battles, betrayals, insurrection … The conquest of Mexico are a very sad but interesting piece of history. The bravery of both sides is doubtless, but as in any conflict, there are two sides and two views, so to avoid the controversy I will only give dates.
The Conquest of Mexico happens between the years 1519 and 1521. On February 18, 1519 Hernán Cortés, who was then mayor of Santiago de Cuba, sailed from the coast of Cuba heading to Mexico. On August 13, 1521 Mexico City-Tenochtitlan fell into the hands of Spanish conquerors.
Today’s recipe is in honor of the Mexican people, to celebrate their strength and their joy. Qué viva Méjico!

Baked Enchiladas

Serve: 6

Ingredients

1 cup cooked chicken, shredded
 12 small tortillas
 250 grs. green tomatoes (tomatillos)
 3 green chilies
 150 grs. Chihuahua or Gruyere cheese, thinly sliced
 1 cup of cream
 1 tablespoon butter
 2 tablespoons chopped cilantro
 1 piece of onion
 1 clove of garlic
 butter
 salt

Directions

Peel the tomatoes and cook with the chilies until soft. Drain, but reserve some of the water. Liquate the tomatoes and chilies with onion, garlic and cilantro. And without straining, pour the sauce into a pan with a bit of butter and fry for a couple of minutes, adding some of the water reserved. The sauce must be light. Season to taste.

In 6 individual molds or one big baking pan, buttered, place the tortillas passed by the sauce, stuff with chicken and fold. The best way to do this with corn tortillas is to warm them one by one in a hot pan.

Finally, cover with the sauce, and place over the cheese, cream and bits of butter.

Put the pan in the oven to 480 ºF (250 ºC), just until they are golden and the cheese has melted.

Serve hot and have a cold beer with it.

Enjoy!

Adapted from La cocina Mexicana

15 thoughts on “Beautiful and beloved Mexico

  1. Dear Giovanna, this is a beautiful post, I am listening to this one of famous Mexican voices… Jorge Negrete… How beautiful lyrics too. Your travel seems so exciting, have a nice and anejoyabe days. And yes, the history makes me sad too, you are so beautiful with your nice thoughts and nice touches for Mexican people. The recipes should be so delicious, photography talks. And I noted. Thank you dear Giovanna, Blessing and Happiness, with my love, nia

    1. Dear Nia, wow, thank you so much for uploading that video! I loved it!!!
      I’m happy you like my recipe and the photos. They were delicious. This week we’ve been eating a lot of wonderful dishes at home with this virtual trip to the Americas. Today will be my last post to commemorate the discovery of America, but I’m sure I’ll be cooking some others recipes from those countries because their gastronomy is so so rich.
      Love and a happy weekend,
      Giovanna

  2. Such a terrible time it must have been and I think Mexico is still recovering.. i am an absolute baby when it comes to mexican food, having never been there, but these look great.. this is a very clever series that you are writing.. c

    1. Hi Celi! Thanks for your comment. Yes, reading about the conquest of Mexico you realize that how horrible it was, but I guess that for us, in modern times, is difficult to fully understand the way things really were back then. Thankfully, Mexico and its people have been able to preserve and cherish their culture not only for themselves but to the world. Because, who doesn’t like Mexico?
      Have a nice day!

  3. Hi Giovanna, I have been going back to catch up on all the posts that you did while I was away. Everything sounds wonderful. I have been known to eat chicken enchiladas with green sauce for breakfast while in Mexico. I had no idea about the cream in the dish…that’s why mine were never quite right. Thanks for sharing all your wonderful recipes.

    1. Hi Karen! I can see you are catching up. Thanks!
      I made some research and found that page with so many wonderful and real Mexican food. Some of the recipes are not yet in English, but I recommend it to you if you like Mexican food.
      Have a nice day!

OK, let's talk

