I Heard It through the Grapevine

Today’s recipe is a piece of cake…literally.

When I first saw this recipe my mind went straight to Christmas, because it looks like the Fruitcake  my mom use to do every year (even when she’s visiting me here at Madrid). But don’t worry, I’m not jumping seasons, I know we still have ahead October with its National Fire Prevention Week, German Unity Day, Proclamation of Portuguese Republic day, International World Teachers’ day, Free thought Day, National Day of Spain, Columbus Day, Alaska Day, Apple Day… (how many days has October?) and Halloween. Not to mention November, no, I mean seriously!

Anyway, bake this cake now or on any of those marvelous days ahead, I’m sure you are going to love it!

Raisins and apple cake

Ingredients

200 g butter at room temperature
200 g brown sugar
3 beaten eggs
1 tbsp. molasses
200g self-raising flour
2 tsps. spices, I used cinnamon and nutmeg
1 tsp. baking powder
2 grated apples (about 100g each)
300 g raisins

Directions

Preheat oven at 320 ºF. Grease and cover the bottom of a round pan with grease proof paper.

Beat the first seven ingredients with your electric mixer until everything is well combined. Then add the apple and raisins. Pour mixture into the pan and bake for about one hour, until the cake is golden brown and spongy and it has separated slightly from the edges of the pan.

If you insert a knife it may still shows some moisture, but that is because of the apple, that’s why this cake will remain moist and crumbly for a long time.

Enjoy!

4 thoughts on “I Heard It through the Grapevine

OK, let's talk

