The last BBQ: Cassava with Mojo

This weekend was officially the last one before school for my kids, so we gather some friends for the last BBQ.

We had the usual in this occasions: ribs, chorizos, longanizas, butifarras … (sausages in one word), but to give it a Panamanian touch I added some Yucas al mojo and, to commemorate the beginning of fall, a walnut cake (I also made some Sticky barbecue chicken wings and drumsticks but no pictures, so no post).

Today I bring you the yuca (Cassava or manioc). Kind of summery, I know, but hey, until September 21st  is still summer isn’t it?

Cassava with Mojo

Ingredients

2 pounds yuca
The juice of one lemon
6 coriander leaves
1 onion diced
2 garlic cloves diced
125 g. butter
Olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
 

Directions

Peel and cut the yuca. Put it in a big pot with enough water to cover and  2 leaves of coriander, 2 tbsp. of oil and salt. Let it cook until tender (20 to 30 minutes).

Meanwhile, chop the coriander and mix it in a big platter with  onion, garlic, butter, lemon juice and olive oil.

When the yuca is ready discard the coriander leaves in the water and drain, then mix it with the dressing while still hot, so the butter will melt. Add salt and pepper to taste.

Enjoy!

9 thoughts on “The last BBQ: Cassava with Mojo

  1. I’ve seen yucca before but, just like yesterday’s plantains, I’ve no idea what to do with it. Now I do, so, thank you. Maybe I’ll serve them both in the same meal.

    1. Thanks, I´m glad you liked. I can imagine the variety of fruits and veggies you have there at Fl. Well feel free to use any of the recipes in here and let me know if you have any question.

  2. I am so happy that you did this yucca recipe. When we lived in miami, we used to have it whenever we had roast pork. I’m going to make this and surprise my husband.

  3. Hi Karen, I hope your husband like the surprise. Never been in Miami (besides the airport) but I think that the mixture of cultures there must create such cool ambiance and the food! Talk about Fusion cuisine…
    I’m glad you like the post and thanks for the comment🙂

  4. Ohh yum – we do have yuca here but have never known what to do with it. Thanks for this delicious sounding recipe, I will definitely be trying this one as I love trying out new dishes. Gracias guapa!

OK, let's talk

