Stuffed Peppers

On July 11 I became an aunt again. One of my cousins ​​in Panama and his wife had a beautiful baby boy named Diego Alejandro. All this happened while I was on the beach, so when I got home I started to make a gift for him in cross stitch.

The problem is that I have chosen a very ambitious project that’s taking me longer than expected and I spend most of my free time embroidering and trying to finish it before the child goes to college. So far this is my progress.

Almost there!

Last week another nephew was born, this time in Madrid. And when I finish with the gift for Diego I have to start with something for little Javier… Maybe I have to change this blog to a cross stitch blog, so at least I’ll have something to write about…

I know what you are thinking, “it takes 9 month for kids to arrive, so why not start before they were born?” Well, I was busy with this “little” project for my son Fernando. See? Busy, busy, busy…besides, I like to live in the edge ;)

He’s a huge Mickey’s fan

Today’s recipe is very simple. All you need to do is gather the ingredients, mix and fill. Perfect for a quick dinner or as a starter.

Piquillo peppers are very typical of Spain and the good thing is that normally they are preserved in oil for sale, so we can find them throughout the year and almost anywhere. Its name is derived from the Spanish word for “little beak” because of their form.

They are grown in Lodosa, a municipality of Navarre. Very versatile, they can be filled with many things (meat, chicken, fish, seafood, rice …) and may be served cold or hot.

One good idea is to stuff them with cheese as I show you today.

Peppers stuffed with goat cheese, olives and raisins

Ingredients

  •  200 g whole piquillo pepper in oil (7 or 8 units)

Filling

  • 50 g black olives, pitted and chopped
  • A few raisins chopped
  • 200 g goat cheese
  • 1 garlic clove crushed
  • Salt and pepper

Directions

Put the chopped olives and raisins in a bowl and mix with the cheese, garlic and a tablespoon of oil from the peppers. Season to taste and proceed to fill the peppers with the help of a teaspoon. Keep them in the fridge until firm, one or two hours, before serving.

The garlic flavor is very strong with one clove, so I recommend that you add half of it and taste it first, then decide if you want more or not. Raisins add some contrast to this recipe, highlight the flavor of goat cheese and soften the garlic taste.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , ,

40 thoughts on “Stuffed Peppers

  1. Mad Dog August 17, 2012 at 16:34 Reply

    They sound delicious! That’s a very sensible garlic tip, it’s a lot stronger when raw ;-)

    • Bluejellybeans August 19, 2012 at 01:23 Reply

      ¡Gracias MD!
      Yes, I add it because I put the whole thing in and despite my love for garlic, it was quite a punch ;)

      • Mad Dog August 19, 2012 at 03:17 Reply

        I love garlic too, but I only use two pieces when I make allioli because three is demasiado!

  2. Food,Photography & France August 17, 2012 at 17:05 Reply

    Nice summer idea and I think the Mickey fresco is excellent.

  3. Anne-Marie August 17, 2012 at 17:56 Reply

    Your needlepoint is so fantastic! And the recipe for stuffed peppers sounds delicious.

  4. Tandy August 17, 2012 at 18:05 Reply

    Welcome to the universe the two new babies!

  5. niasunset August 17, 2012 at 23:24 Reply

    WOW! This is great post… I loved it so much :) First of all congratulations for new baby and his parents. You did amazing works for him… fascinated me. And this recipe is amazing, we have stuffed pepper recipes but not like this one, I loved it… especially with red pepper and cheese should be so delicious. Thank you dear Giovanna, have a nice weekend, love you, nia

    • Bluejellybeans August 19, 2012 at 01:27 Reply

      Hi Nia!
      I’m glad you like it :). I will pass to the new parents your congrats, thanks!
      You too have a nice weekend :)

  6. niasunset August 17, 2012 at 23:24 Reply

    Reblogged this on photographyofnia and commented:
    I want to try this beautiful recipe… She is amazing.

    • Bluejellybeans August 19, 2012 at 01:28 Reply

      Oh! Thank you dear Nia!! I was wondering where all these new visitors came from ;)

  7. Karen August 17, 2012 at 23:30 Reply

    Olives, raisins and goat cheese, that sounds delicious.

    • Bluejellybeans August 19, 2012 at 01:30 Reply

      And it taste delicious too, Karen ;)
      Thanks a lot for your comment, have a nice weekend!

  8. ChgoJohn August 18, 2012 at 00:23 Reply

    FIrst and foremost, congratulations!!!! YAY for the Little Ones. 3 cross stitch projects at once. You don’t need more time, you need more hands! Stuffed peppers are a real treat. Fill them with cheese and I want some. These sound very tasty, Giovanna. What time should I come for dinner?

    • Bluejellybeans August 19, 2012 at 01:34 Reply

      Thank you very much, John!
      Haha! Well, you know that if you come for dinner, you might end doing some cross-stitch too ;)

  9. sybaritica August 18, 2012 at 01:18 Reply

    I *so* wish we could get those lovely peppers here :(

    • Bluejellybeans August 19, 2012 at 01:45 Reply

      Hi John!
      I can imagine it is a bit difficult to find certain items up there, but I maybe some other kind of pepper may work just as fine.
      Thanks for stopping by and commenting :)

  10. Eha August 18, 2012 at 05:47 Reply

    Love the cross stitch story you are painting: have given my x-stitching away for latch-hooking when [if ever these days] I have time. Love the pepper recipe ’cause have never stuffed them without a grain base – this looks delightful :) !

    • Bluejellybeans August 19, 2012 at 02:01 Reply

      Thanks Eha!
      I love x-stitch, always have a project at hand :) and the recipe is perfect for the summer, because we don’t need to turn on the stove (is too hot for that!!)

  11. Anna August 18, 2012 at 20:32 Reply

    Lovely summery projects – aren’t we lucky to be alive to experience all these goodies! And congrats to the little one!

  12. Fergiemoto August 18, 2012 at 23:40 Reply

    Sounds yummy! I know garlic is strong, but I love it.
    The cross stitch projects are beautiful. It has been one of my passions and have done quite a few, even very ambitious, pieces as yourself. I find it enjoyable.

    • Bluejellybeans August 19, 2012 at 01:49 Reply

      Hi Fergiemoto!
      Thanks a lot for your comment :)
      I love to do cross-stitch, is relaxing and I have developed the ability to X-stich and watch TV at the same time ;)
      Cool!

  13. thecompletecookbook August 19, 2012 at 14:53 Reply

    Congratulations on the new family members. We have a great nephew due in just a few days too. Lovely stuffed peppers. :-) Mandy

  14. Promenade Claire August 19, 2012 at 17:01 Reply

    You certainly are a busy bee !! And congratulations on being an Aunt again
    coul dI just pop round for some of those stuffed peppers, now would be good :)

    • Bluejellybeans August 21, 2012 at 17:37 Reply

      Hi Claire!
      Yes, is nice to have a new baby around (and don’t have to worry about dippers and blank nights ;) )
      Thanks for your comment!

  15. Christina @ Sweet Pea's Kitchen August 20, 2012 at 05:30 Reply

    I am loving those adorable cross-stitches you are making! Super cute! These peppers also look really tasty! The goat cheese and olive filling sounds great! :)

  16. glutenfreezen August 21, 2012 at 05:01 Reply

    How exciting to have so many new babies in the family! Your peppers look amazing!

    ~April

    • Bluejellybeans August 21, 2012 at 17:38 Reply

      Hi April!
      Thank you very much for your comment :)

  17. Stefanie August 22, 2012 at 00:02 Reply

    What a wonderfully refreshing idea with the peppers! Sounds like a great combo! And great job with all your projects. They look adorable and I’m sure the children will love them!

    • Bluejellybeans August 29, 2012 at 01:17 Reply

      Thank you Stefanie! :)
      I’m finally done with the rabbits and now I’m back with Fernando’s towel ;)
      I have to remember to take a picture before sending it to Panama, so I can show you.

  18. momentumofjoy August 24, 2012 at 15:49 Reply

    I am so impressed that you write this stuff in Spanish and English. I read the first one in Spanish and then noticed that I was reading a translated version again. I can barely get mine done in one language! Very very nice. :)

    • Bluejellybeans August 29, 2012 at 01:21 Reply

      Hi Joanna!
      Thanks a lot for your comment :)
      I have to admit that it is a bit time consuming, that’s why I try to keep my posts short ;)

  19. [...] Blue Jelly Beans.  Spanish style piquillos with goat cheese, olives, and raisins. [...]

  20. A Table in the Sun November 13, 2012 at 02:14 Reply

    These would be great as an appetizer. Thanks for inspiring my blog post about stuffed peppers around the world. I have linked to your site!

OK, let's talk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 888 other followers

