Melon with ham

Today’s recipe could not be easier; there are no measurements, so forget about “one teaspoon of this or 100 grams of that”

You just need a good melon cut into squares, rectangles or other creative form and ham, a good Serrano ham cut into thin slices.

When I arrived to Spain this was one of the dishes that surprised me. Melon… mixed with ham! That’s wrong…

After all these years though, I have to admit that the Spanish know what they do in the kitchen because the mix is great, believe me. I just have to make one clarification, the type of melon used here in Spain to make this dish is the one known as “piel de sapo(toad skin). A variety that when I lived in Panama was not very common, but I think it will be now easier to find.

Almost forgot! This delicious dish is served as a first course or starter.

Try it at home; I’m sure you will like the contrast of flavors.

Enjoy!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

36 thoughts on “Melon with ham

  1. Tom Baker August 2, 2012 at 00:35 Reply

    Hello Gi. I have been absent for a long while but I was hoping to say hello and be the first to comment on this post. Unfortunately I don’t like any melons but it still looks delicious.

    • Bluejellybeans August 2, 2012 at 16:18 Reply

      Hello Mr R!
      Yes, I noticed, where have you been? The beach ;) Thanks a lot for your comment. You don’t like melons? Is a shame, they are good for you and tasty. Perfect for the summer too.

  2. Mad Dog August 2, 2012 at 00:41 Reply

    Those are fantastic large portions of jamon – I definitely want to come to your house for dinner ;-)

    • Chica Andaluza August 2, 2012 at 09:31 Reply

      MD – you´ll have to come and visit – we bought a jamon with us!

    • Bluejellybeans August 2, 2012 at 16:19 Reply

      Hi MD!
      Yes, they were big portions… but the photographs were close ups ;)
      You know that you are more than welcome into our home :)

      • Mad Dog August 2, 2012 at 16:53 Reply

        Thanks both of you and you are both welcome here too ;-)

  3. Fergiemoto August 2, 2012 at 05:29 Reply

    Jamon…Oh, I so love that! It was one of my favorites when I was in Spain.

    • Bluejellybeans August 2, 2012 at 16:22 Reply

      Hi Fergiemoto!
      I’m glad you like jamón, is good isn’t it? ;)

  4. Barbara Bamber | justasmidgen August 2, 2012 at 05:47 Reply

    I would definitely love this.. the sweet and juicy mixed with salty!! Fantastic!

  5. Tandy August 2, 2012 at 06:00 Reply

    This is my mother’s favorite :)

    • Bluejellybeans August 2, 2012 at 16:24 Reply

      Really? That’s great!
      Thanks for stopping by Tandy :)

  6. Chica Andaluza August 2, 2012 at 09:31 Reply

    It´s a great dish – we eat it all the time. In fact we travlled with a jamon and bought melones in Castilla and La Mancha on the way!

    • Bluejellybeans August 2, 2012 at 16:28 Reply

      Hi Tanya!
      I can imagine this is like an everyday dish for you up there in the mountain ;) And the jamón and the melons must be delicious… yummy!
      You are going to make a bunch of English people very happy once you cut the melons and slice the jamon ;)

  7. thecompletecookbook August 2, 2012 at 11:45 Reply

    Haven’t had this in years! :-) Mandy

    • Bluejellybeans August 2, 2012 at 16:30 Reply

      Hi Mandy!
      And here I was thinking that this was more of a Spanish thing and that many people didn’t know about it…
      Well, now’s the moment for having it again. One little secret: Tanya brought jamon and melons with her from Spain, go pay her a visit ;)

  8. cocomino August 2, 2012 at 13:52 Reply

    Oh, yummy. Very nice. :)

  9. Jed Gray (sportsglutton) August 2, 2012 at 22:11 Reply

    Such a classic and always enjoyed in our house. :-)

  10. Promenade Claire August 3, 2012 at 00:32 Reply

    It looks so good, but I’d add you do need to get hold of really tasty juicy melons – I love the combination of salt and sweet!

    • Bluejellybeans August 8, 2012 at 23:05 Reply

      Hi Claire!
      Yes, that’s true. The fruit needs to be really juicy and sweet.
      Thanks for commenting :)

  11. niasunset August 3, 2012 at 01:03 Reply

    I haven’t tasted them before… Seems should be nice, Thanks dear Giovanna, love, nia

    • Bluejellybeans August 8, 2012 at 23:06 Reply

      Hi Nia!
      This is another one for you to try at home, I think you’ll like it :)
      Thanks!

  12. ChgoJohn August 3, 2012 at 01:05 Reply

    This is such a great dish, Giovanna. We use prosciutto but the effect is the same, salty and sweet in one bite. I love it! Hmmm I need to find me a ripe melon. :)

    • Bluejellybeans August 8, 2012 at 23:08 Reply

      Hi John!
      Yes, the effect is the same. Is soo good ;)

  13. sonsothunder August 3, 2012 at 10:21 Reply

    Can taste it already…just went in for seconds of a carrot/pineapple/crazin salad w/mayo/sour cream/ chili powder///and…umm, probably a few things I don’t remember adding….but, I NOW wish I’d of added some ham, bacon or Prosciutto…
    i think I will next time for sure…Thanx

    • Bluejellybeans August 9, 2012 at 01:28 Reply

      Hello Paul!
      That salad sounds outstanding! Ham or bacon are always good additions to almost anything ;)
      Thanks for your comment. Ps. loved your post on American pie!

  14. Christina @ Sweet Pea's KItchen August 4, 2012 at 06:29 Reply

    I love cantaloupe and prosciutto together. The first time I tried it was while on vacation in Italy…super delicious! :)

    • Bluejellybeans August 9, 2012 at 01:31 Reply

      Hi Christina!
      You are such a globetrotter ;) Thanks for your comment!

  15. Karen August 8, 2012 at 22:05 Reply

    I have always loved this salty and sweet combination. A wonderful starter for a summer meal.

  16. glutenfreezen August 9, 2012 at 03:07 Reply

    I would love all of the different flavors mixed together. Such a simple but delicious little snack! :)

OK, let's talk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 741 other followers

