Cuban style stuffed potatoes

According to Gloria Estefan, these Cuban stuffed potatoes are like knishes, the only difference is the seasoning. What do you think?

I made these potatoes last week and they were delicious. Best of all is that you can use the leftovers from the picadillo recipe I posted a few days ago. Plus, these potatoes can be frozen for several days and you don’t even need to thaw, simply adjust the cooking time. A good tip would be preparing, freezing, frying and then put them in the oven at a low temperature just to make sure they’re steaming hot inside as well.

Ingredients

  • Picadillo
  • 6 large potatoes (preferably Russet)
  • 1 pinch of salt (for the water)
  • ½ teaspoon salt (for the puree in case you need it)
  • 2 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 small can of stuffed olives with red pepper (you will need these only if your picadillo doesn’t have any olive left)
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup bread crumbs or cracker crumbs
  • ¼ cup flour (or enough to coat the potatoes)
  • Vegetable oil, for frying

Directions

Prepare the hash and let it cool. Peel potatoes, cut into cubes and place in a medium saucepan. Cover with water and add a pinch of salt. Cook until tender (20 minutes approx.). Transfer to a large bowl, add salt and garlic to taste, mash and let cool completely.

Prepare three deep plates or bowls, one with the beaten eggs, one with flour and one with the breadcrumbs.

With an ice cream spoon, take a big ball of puree and divide it into two equal parts. With your fingers or a teaspoon make a hole in each half. Fill one half to the brim with picadillo. Fill the other half to ¾ of its capacity and put an olive on top. Put together the two halves to form a ball, pinching the joints to ensure they do not open when cooked. Then smooth out any wrinkles with your hands. Repeat with the remaining mashed potatoes and ground beef, placing the potato balls on a tray covered with baking paper.

Coat the potatoes with flour, dip in beaten egg and finally apply another coat of bread crumbs, making sure that they are covered on all sides. I must say that my method for breading is slightly different to that suggested in the book. They say to mix together flour and bread crumbs. But personally I prefer my way: flour, egg, breadcrumbs (reverse alphabetical order)

Place breaded stuffed potatoes on a large plate or tray and leave in the fridge for a few hours before frying (3 or 4 hours).

The amount of oil needed for frying is just the enough to cover half of the potato. Fry 4 to 5 minutes, turning halfway so the ball is cooked and browned on all sides. These potatoes can be fried in an electric fryer too; actually it will help to obtain more evenly browned stuffed potatoes (temperature, 375ºF – 190 ºC. Time, 3 to 4 minutes)

Place over paper towels to absorb any excess oil. ¡Y listo! These are perfect as appetizers accompanied with a sauce.

Enjoy!

 

adapted from: Estefan Kitchen

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , ,

33 thoughts on “Cuban style stuffed potatoes

  1. Mad Dog April 28, 2012 at 11:37 Reply

    How lovely – I would never have thought of stuffing potatoes ;-)

    • Bluejellybeans April 28, 2012 at 23:59 Reply

      Hi MD! I guess that’s because your recipes are way more sophisticated than mine ;)
      Thanks for your comment!

      • Mad Dog April 29, 2012 at 00:43 Reply

        I wouldn’t say that and I’ve learnt something special from your recipe. There’s plenty of sophistication here ;-)

  2. Food,Photography & France April 28, 2012 at 12:14 Reply

    They sound delicious. Very neat idea although I have no idea what a “knish” may be.

    • Bluejellybeans April 29, 2012 at 00:03 Reply

      Thanks Roger!
      I didn’t know either ;) But now I know that it is very similar to a Cuban stuffed potato ;)
      Have a lovely Sunday. In Madrid is raining :(

  3. cocomino April 28, 2012 at 12:48 Reply

    Nice. The dish is very beautiful although the ingredient is usual. Your skill is great. :)

  4. ceciliag April 28, 2012 at 16:11 Reply

    This really really sounds like my kind of food. i will be sure to try this!! YUM! Thanks G.. c

  5. Just A Smidgen April 28, 2012 at 16:24 Reply

    These are sooo cute!! I was wondering how you got the stuffing inside;)

    • Bluejellybeans April 29, 2012 at 00:58 Reply

      Thanks Barbara!
      I’m so happy you like them! It is very easy, you’ll see :)

  6. ChgoJohn April 28, 2012 at 19:24 Reply

    These would make a great appetizer, Giovanna! None of my usual dinner guests (or even the unusual ones :) ) would expect to find these stuffed with a delicious filling. I have to remember these for when I entertain next.

    • Bluejellybeans April 29, 2012 at 01:06 Reply

      Thanks John!
      I’m glad you like it. And I hope your guests (usual and unusual) enjoy this recipe too.
      Like I told you the other day I made your mom’s pasta dough and with it some kind of Tagliatelle, but I’m not sure. I was amazed by the final product. It was sooo good (not too pretty though) and this was only my first attempt ;) I uploaded some pics on my twitter if you want to take a look.
      Thank you very much for the recipe!

      • ChgoJohn April 29, 2012 at 08:11 Reply

        Not pretty? Are you kidding me? It looks great and I just know it was delicious. I promise you, Giovanna, it gets easier and easier each time you make it. I foresee a future of many fantastic pasta dinners served at your home. :)

  7. Fergiemoto April 29, 2012 at 03:01 Reply

    I’ve never had stuffed potatoes, but it looks and sounds good!

  8. Chica Andaluza April 29, 2012 at 12:49 Reply

    Wonderful – one of our local bars does a kind of croqueta like this and I love it. Will have to give this a go soon :)

    • Bluejellybeans April 29, 2012 at 17:41 Reply

      Hi Tanya!
      Please do :) At Chiclana there’s a great restaurant that we love and they make something very similar to this one, it is called bombita and it is stuffed with tuna and is served with ketchup and mayo… kids love it! ;)

  9. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide April 29, 2012 at 17:37 Reply

    Wow, I’ve never had this. Looks intriguing and delicious.

  10. niasunset April 30, 2012 at 01:31 Reply

    I haven’t thought too dear Giovanna, I loved this recipe, seems so delicious and different… Thank you, with my love, nia

  11. Broken Sparkles May 1, 2012 at 18:10 Reply
  12. Karen May 3, 2012 at 21:55 Reply

    You promised another dish with the piccadillo and you didn’t disappoint. The stuffed potatoes sound great.

  13. Dayle Lynne May 6, 2012 at 08:50 Reply

    Looks very yummy! I have a bunch of your recipes piling up . . . I just need to start making them!

  14. whilehewasout May 8, 2012 at 11:11 Reply

    Well this just made its way to my must try list! Never occurred to me to do such thing with potatoes! Great idea thanks for the recipe!

  15. Carimañolas (bis) | Blue jellybeans November 12, 2012 at 17:00 Reply

    [...] If you want to try something similar and also very very good, go take a look at these Cuban style stuffed potatoes. [...]

OK, let's talk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 744 other followers

