Peanut butter cookies

Lately I’ve been baking a lot. Must be because of the cold… The other day I made these peanut butter cookies and they were gone-in-five-minutes delicious!

This wasn’t my first attempt though; the first time the cookies were good, but they spread too much and didn’t keep their characteristic crisscross pattern on top. I think the problem was that I didn’t have shortening, so I bought a can of Crisco® All-Vegetable Shortening and problem solved!

I know there are people who avoid the use of shortening. First I want to say that once in a while it can’t be THAT bad; however I found some info about substitutes for shortening if you are planning on making these every week ;)  Here’s the info from Cook’s Thesaurus:

Shortening = vegetable shortening   Notes: Crisco is a popular brand.  Substitutes:  butter (1 cup shortening = 1 cup + 2 tablespoons butter; butter is better tasting than shortening but more expensive and has cholesterol and a higher level of saturated fat; makes cookies less crunchy, bread crusts more crispy) OR margarine (1 cup shortening = 1 cup + 2 tablespoons margarine; margarine is better tasting than shortening, but more expensive; makes cookies less crunchy, bread crusts tougher) OR lard (1 C shortening = 1 C – 2 tablespoons lard; lard has cholesterol and a higher level of saturated fat) I hope it helps.

Today’s recipe is from a cute page called peanutbutterlovers.com. They have tons of recipes and information about PB. I made only one change to their recipe; instead of creamy Pb I used crunchy Pb, so I didn’t add the roasted peanuts.

Ingredients

Makes 24 cookies

1 ¼ cup all-purpose flour, sifted

¼ cup creamy peanut butter

¼ cup shortening

¼ cup unsalted butter, softened

¼ cup granulated sugar

¼ cup brown sugar

¼ teaspoon salt

1 large egg

½ teaspoon baking powder

¾ teaspoon baking soda

¼ cup roasted peanuts, chopped

Directions

Combine shortening, butter, peanut butter, sugar, brown sugar and egg. In a separate bowl, sift together flour, baking powder, baking soda and salt. Mix dry ingredients into peanut butter mixture. Add chopped peanuts and stir. Chill batter. Shape into 1-inch balls and put on baking sheet. Flatten with a fork dipped in sugar, making a crisscross pattern. Bake at 375 ºF (190 ºC) for 10-12 minutes until golden brown.

Enjoy!

Sources: Peanutbutterlovers.com    & Cook’s Thesaurus

Tagged: , , , , , , , ,

17 thoughts on “Peanut butter cookies

  1. Mad Dog February 11, 2012 at 13:18 Reply

    5 minute cookies – I can see why ;-)

  2. Chica Andaluza February 11, 2012 at 13:47 Reply

    I am laughing right now – not because I am mad, but because I love peanut butter but have only used it in baking to make biscuits for my dogs (a recipe from Rufus´Wine & Spirits Guide). Each time I make them (last time was about a week ago) I find myself thinking, “these smell so good, why don´t I make a human version” and voilá…you´ve pointed me in the right direction. Might have to fire up the oven this afternoon for a quick baking session :)

    • Bluejellybeans February 12, 2012 at 19:09 Reply

      Hi Tanya!
      No me puedo creer que nunca hayas hecho estas galletas para tí!!
      Tus perros son unos chicos muy afortunados ;)
      Espero que te hayas animado a hacer unas cuantas de estas para ti y Big Man y que os hayan gustado.
      Besos,
      Giovanna

  3. rumpydog February 11, 2012 at 15:24 Reply

    my two favorite things combined- peanut butter and cookies!

  4. Food,Photography & France February 11, 2012 at 19:27 Reply

    Good biscuits like those are essential in the battle against the cold. Nice one.

    • Bluejellybeans February 12, 2012 at 19:21 Reply

      Hi Roger!
      Thanks for your comment. There’s no better partner than these ;)

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide February 11, 2012 at 19:43 Reply

    Beautiful pictures.

  6. ChgoJohn February 11, 2012 at 21:09 Reply

    Peanut butter cookies have been a favorite since I was a boy. These here sound delicious, Giovanna, and I’ll be baking a batch, once I buy a jar of “people” peanut butter. The jar I have now is reserved for Max. :)

    • Bluejellybeans February 12, 2012 at 19:25 Reply

      He he… people peanut butter ;)
      Max is a lucky guy! I hope you find the time to make a batch of these and share some “people” cookies with him.

  7. thebigfatnoodle February 11, 2012 at 23:02 Reply

    We’ve been loads of baking too because of the cold weather. I love the look of your peanut butter cookies, the lovely and smooth on the top and lightly golden. They must taste awesome!

    • Bluejellybeans February 12, 2012 at 19:28 Reply

      Thanks TBFN!!
      Yes, is sooo cold! I wasn’t 100% satisfied with how they looked, but they were really good ;)

  8. Tandy February 13, 2012 at 07:45 Reply

    yum, and I would eat these for breakfast :)

  9. […] have our Corn fritters, another Panamanian hit The top five begins with an American classic…Peanut butter cookies. You can’t have only one! The forth place in this top ten are M&M’s cookies! No […]

OK, let's talk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 863 other followers

