Happy Haloween

The foulest stench is in the air

The funk of forty thousand years

And grizzly ghouls from every tomb

Are closing in to seal your doom

And though you fight to stay alive

Your body starts to shiver

For no mere mortal can resist

The evil of the thriller…

 

Today I thought about making something special for Halloween. Maybe some Halloween cupcakes or a pumpkin pie, but there’s so many great recipes out there. Finally I opted for Martha’s Stewart sweet bones. Enjoy the night and remember they’re out to get you, there’s demons closing in on every side… ;)

Ingredients

 6 large egg whites
  1 ½ cups sugar

Directions

Preheat oven to 200 degrees. Put egg whites and sugar in the heatproof bowl of an electric mixer. Set bowl over a pan of simmering water; whisk constantly until sugar is dissolved and mixture feels warm to the touch, about 5 minutes.

Return bowl to mixer, and fit mixer with the whisk attachment. Beat on high speed until very stiff peaks form, about 8 minutes.

ghosts, pumpkins and bones, why not?

Transfer meringue to a pastry bag fitted with a 1/2-inch plain round tip, such as a Wilton #1A. Pipe bone shapes, each 5 to 6 inches long, onto two baking sheets lined with parchment paper. Bake until crisp throughout, about 1 hour and a half. Let cool completely on a wire rack.

These meringues can be baked three days ahead. Store them in an airtight container at room temperature. Make meringue bones using one continuous motion: Begin by piping a horizontal S shape at top. Continue piping meringue downward in a straight line to form the middle of the bone. Finish by making another horizontal S shape at the bottom. Repeat until all of the meringue is used up.

 

Enjoy!

 

 

Images: freedigitalphotos.net

Tagged: , ,

24 thoughts on “Happy Haloween

  1. ChgoJohn October 31, 2011 at 21:28 Reply

    Leave it to Martha Stewart to come up with a recipe for bones. Thanks for passing it along and have a Happy Halloween!

    • Bluejellybeans November 1, 2011 at 00:43 Reply

      Thanks John and Happy Halloween to you!

      The photos of my version of Martha’s bones were abducted by a hippie zombie; but she has finally arrived and I just upload them ;)

  2. ailovebaking October 31, 2011 at 21:59 Reply

    Happy Halloween spooktacular recipe!

    • Bluejellybeans November 1, 2011 at 00:47 Reply

      Thanks Ailovebaking! I just upload the photos of the recipe. My daughter, the hippie zombie, took the camera with her, leaving me with nothing but good intentions to make a great post…

  3. Mad Dog October 31, 2011 at 22:37 Reply

    Fantastic ;-)

    • Bluejellybeans November 1, 2011 at 00:50 Reply

      Thanks MD!
      FYI, I just updated the post with photos of my version of Martha’s sweet bones (it sounds odd) ;)

  4. rumpydog November 1, 2011 at 00:50 Reply

    Happy Halloween! Mmmmm…. bones!!!

    • Bluejellybeans November 1, 2011 at 00:58 Reply

      Thanks Rumpy!
      Yes, these bones are for you, I’m glad you liked. Tell June Buggie that I couldn’t manage to make a sardine of meringue for her :( Next time, I promise

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide November 1, 2011 at 00:54 Reply

    Those are great. So clever!

  6. Stefanie November 1, 2011 at 03:10 Reply

    Happy Halloween!! Thanks for referencing my cupcakes :D The bones and pumpkins and skulls are awesome looking!! A wonderful Halloween treat!

    • Bluejellybeans November 1, 2011 at 17:33 Reply

      Thanks Stefanie! Your cupcakes where spooktaculars ;)
      I’m glad you liked it.

  7. sonsothunder November 1, 2011 at 06:26 Reply

    Wow, reminds me of a night in 1982 when we all gathered to see the long awaited new Michael Jackson video “Thriller”

    • Bluejellybeans November 1, 2011 at 17:31 Reply

      Oh Paul! I couldn’t help myself and just watched the whole 13 minutes of Thriller. I love that video. I was 9 in 1982, but I can remember my brothers and me trying to learn the choreography… So much fun!
      Thanks

  8. Tandy November 1, 2011 at 08:45 Reply

    love the poem! and those bones :)

    • Bluejellybeans November 1, 2011 at 17:28 Reply

      Thanks Tandy! The poem was actually part of the lyrics of Michael Jackson’s Thriller ;)

  9. chicaandaluza November 1, 2011 at 09:53 Reply

    Brilliant – you clever little ghostie! We saw a report on the telenoticias last night of a big “zombie party” and I´m sure it was in Madrid. All looked like good spooky fun :)

    • Bluejellybeans November 1, 2011 at 17:26 Reply

      Jajaja, gracias Tanya!
      Me alegro de que te hayan gustado… Y me ha encantado eso de Little ghostie ;)
      Si en Madrid hubo varias fiestas, bastante ambiente de Halloween. Mis niños se disfrazaron y se fueron con sus amigos a pedir chuches…Yo me disfracé de Cindy Crawford: me pinté un lunar sobre el labio…

  10. niasunset November 1, 2011 at 18:39 Reply

    So sweety and lovely… I loved them. Thank you dear Giovanna, with my love, nia

  11. Food, Flowers, Herbs and Life! November 1, 2011 at 18:55 Reply

    So fun for Halloween!

    • Bluejellybeans November 2, 2011 at 00:22 Reply

      Thanks Phyllis! They were fun to make and really good :)

  12. sportsglutton November 1, 2011 at 23:15 Reply

    Too fun! Hope you had a good Halloween!

    • Bluejellybeans November 2, 2011 at 00:29 Reply

      It was a good Halloween. I little chaotic, taking the kids to three different parties… and then picking them up… But it was fine. How was yours? I watched the Monday videos, but I think I didn’t had the chance to leave a comment, sorry

OK, let's talk

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 888 other followers

